| Laclale♪ |
I'm going to make homeblew Item called "Happy coin" from closed flash escape game site called mild escape.
But before, check this.
Spend 1 Hero Point to reroll a check. You must use the second result. This is a fortune effect (which means you can’t use more than 1 Hero Point on a check).
If a fortune effect and a misfortune effect would apply to the same roll, the two cancel each other out, and you roll normally.
Stratagem has fortune also.
Are we allowed to negate one misfortune with one another fortune and vice versa to keep another that kind of effect?
| Laclale♪ |
Happy coin
Item level ??(Asking for this too)
Fortune/Misfortune
This coin reminds nostalgia happiness, and bring fortune. Will be misfortune too.
Frequency Once per (day or 10 minutes) for both but sharing its count
Trigger Roll is in effect of both fortune and misfortune:
Negate one misfortune/fortune and keep another.
Trigger Rolled die has value that lower/equal or higher than axiomatic value: Flip that value (New value is max value - that value +1) per die. Do this to all die that described in trigger, in same roll.
| breithauptclan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Are we allowed to negate one misfortune with one another fortune and vice versa to keep another that kind of effect?
No, sorry.
You can never have more than one fortune effect alter a single roll. If multiple fortune effects would apply, you have to pick which to use.
So having two fortune effects on a single roll will not stack. You can only apply one of them. Normally this would mean that the player would choose not to use resources to try and get a second fortune effect, but if the fortune effects both trigger automatically, then still only one of them would be of any effect.
If a fortune effect and a misfortune effect would apply to the same roll, the two cancel each other out, and you roll normally.
So one misfortune effect will cause the roll to be rolled normally. And since only one fortune effect can be used for the roll, the misfortune effect will cancel all of them (well, all one of them that are left after the multiple fortune effects cancel each other out).
| breithauptclan |
Happy coin
Item level ??(Asking for this too)
Fortune/MisfortuneThis coin reminds nostalgia happiness, and bring fortune. Will be misfortune too.
Have you looked at the Tengu feat Eat Fortune? That seems to do something similar to what you are describing.
| breithauptclan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Laclale♪ wrote:Are we allowed to negate one misfortune with one another fortune and vice versa to keep another that kind of effect?No, sorry.
Actually, maybe not sorry. This seems to be the very rule that you are trying to override with your coin item.
So no, the players can't negate a misfortune effect with a fortune effect and then apply a new fortune effect to the roll using the normal rules.
They would have to have something like your homebrew item in order to ignore that rule.
| Castilliano |
You could have the coin do a counteract effect on misfortune effects.
Of course, being tied to an item it'd eventually fail against higher level enemies, though could be good defense against minor opponents nullifying your luck.
The trigger condition would need to be rewritten as the luck effects cancel before they ever get to their target.
That said. Meh.
And homebrew items should be in Homebrew obviously, not Rules.
| Laclale♪ |
So no, the players can't negate a misfortune effect with a fortune effect and then apply a new fortune effect to the roll using the normal rules.
Then, how stratagem itself's roll affects with fortune and misfortune effects.
Choose a creature you can see and roll a d20. If you Strike the chosen creature later this round, you must use the result of the roll you made to Devise a Stratagem for your Strike's attack roll instead of rolling. You make this substitution only for the first Strike you make against the creature this round, not any subsequent attacks.
Seems like Stratagem itself's fortune effect just reuses it's result.
And don't forget there is "reroll fortune" things.
| Laclale♪ |
| Castilliano |
breithauptclan wrote:So no, the players can't negate a misfortune effect with a fortune effect and then apply a new fortune effect to the roll using the normal rules.Then, how stratagem itself's roll affects with fortune and misfortune effects.
Devise a Stratagem's description wrote:Choose a creature you can see and roll a d20. If you Strike the chosen creature later this round, you must use the result of the roll you made to Devise a Stratagem for your Strike's attack roll instead of rolling. You make this substitution only for the first Strike you make against the creature this round, not any subsequent attacks.Seems like Stratagem itself's fortune effect just reuses it's result.
And don't forget there is "reroll fortune" things.
Not sure what you're trying to establish here.
If you used a Fortune effect (like Assurance) on a roll and an enemy made you roll twice and take the lowest (a Misfortune effect), then neither would apply and you'd roll normally.
You wouldn't be able to reroll (assuming it's a Fortune effect which all effects like that seem to be), nor would an enemy be able to make you.
Nor could you use True Strike (a Fortune effect) on your Devise A Strategem's predictive roll, since they're both Fortune effects, even if they do different things.
It's a balancing factor so multiple Fortune effects (or Misfortune against you!) don't stack, even if the stacking's a bit more abstract than typical.
ETA: There's the hidden downside that Hero Points don't always work if you've already tried to tweak the roll w/ luck!
| breithauptclan |
breithauptclan wrote:So no, the players can't negate a misfortune effect with a fortune effect and then apply a new fortune effect to the roll using the normal rules.Then, how stratagem itself's roll affects with fortune and misfortune effects.
Devise a Stratagem's description wrote:Choose a creature you can see and roll a d20. If you Strike the chosen creature later this round, you must use the result of the roll you made to Devise a Stratagem for your Strike's attack roll instead of rolling. You make this substitution only for the first Strike you make against the creature this round, not any subsequent attacks.Seems like Stratagem itself's fortune effect just reuses it's result.
And don't forget there is "reroll fortune" things.
Yeah, it is very strange since the Fortune trait is on the Devise a Strategem action rather than applying the Fortune trait to the attack you make.
I would probably run the game as though the Fortune trait was applied to the attack. So then if an Investigator character was attacking a Tengu character and the Investigator used Devise a Strategem and made a strike against the Tengu, the Tengu could use Eat Fortune to remove the fortune effect and the Investigator would have to roll the attack as normal.
I think RAW the Tengu would use Eat Fortune against the Devise a Strategem action, but that seems a bit strange to do and it would have the same effect in general - the Investigator would still have to roll the attack since the effect of Devise a Strategem was negated. Maybe if the Investigator character knew that the Tengu was going to remove the effects of Devise a Strategem then the Investigator would choose to do a different action. But that seems a minor point to make in the middle of a game. Most of the time, players are calling out multiple actions that they are doing all at once unless they are specifically wanting to see the results of one action before deciding how to use a different one.