Aasimar Halo, Free action?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Hi, one of my players is going to play an Aasimar with the Halo alternate race trait.

*Halo Some aasimars possess the ability to manifest halos. An aasimar with this racial trait can create light centered on her head at will as a spell-like ability. When using her halo, she gains a +2 circumstance bonus on Intimidate checks against evil creatures and on saving throws against becoming blinded or dazzled. This racial trait replaces the darkvision standard racial trait.*

There is no mention of actions.
I am somewhat assuming that it is a free action to manifest the halo, but is there any kind of errata or official word on whether or not it takes any sort of action? if it can be used out of turn or what else?
I found nothing (dunno if because no one asked or is just my own poor wisdom and perception bonus :D )

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
CRB page 221 wrote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description.

The aasimar ability creates light (the italics means it duplicates the spell light), which is a standard action and lasts 10 min/level.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

As a general rule Spell-Like and Supernatural Abilities are a Standard Action unless otherwise noted ...

A spell-like ability usually has a limit on how often it can be used. A constant spell-like ability or one that can be used at will has no use limit. Reactivating a constant spell-like ability is a swift action. Using all other spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise, and doing so provokes attacks of opportunity. It is possible to attempt a concentration check to use a spell-like ability defensively and avoid provoking attacks of opportunity, just as when casting a spell. A spell-like ability can be disrupted just as a spell can be. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.


That said, as its something they can do at will, unless they had a reason to not be shedding said light (i.e. stealth, concentrating on a spell for a super long period of time, etc.) it can be safely assumed they are upping it well before it runs out while out of combat.


My take on at-will abilities is that they'd have it active all the timez vut peobably wouldn't activate it until it runs out.

That said, since this one lasts 10 minutes per level there's a very high chance it'll be active before combat starts. Even at level 1 that's 100 rounds, so just roll a d100 and that's how many rounds it has left when combat starts. As soon as they hit level 2 just roll a d2 (coin flip) first, if they roll high then they have over 10 minutes (100 rounds) left and you really have no reason to track it.

Honestly, unless you think tracking this and rolling for it every combat is really adding some tension to the combat it's probably worth ignoring after that. Yes there's a chance it runs out in combat, but by level 3 it lasts half an hour (300 rounds) and likely doesn't really matter if it does run out in most combats.


Hence why I mentioned reasons they wouldn't want a light spell particularly active at a given moment :P.

Liberty's Edge

As it is treated as a light spell you can cast it again before the end of the previous one. The new one will replace the older version immediately. That way you can maintain it active as long as you stay awake.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Aasimar Halo, Free action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.