Oracle casting Righteous Might


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Righteous Might spell normally grants DR 5/Good or DR 5/Evil depending on whether you channel positive or negative energy, respectively. An Oracle of Battle gains Righteous Might as a bonus spell at 10th level, but doesn't channel energy. So by RAW they forfeit the DR. Is this an oversight, or intentional?

Note that Oracles do have to choose between having all "Cure" or "Inflict" spells on their list of spells known. This isn't restricted by alignment however, so I'm not sure how much it should count.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I would probably go Alignment, and for Neutral Oracles their choice of Cure vs Inflict.

With the exception of Oracle of life who can channel positive.


Galnörag wrote:

I would probably go Alignment, and for Neutral Oracles their choice of Cure vs Inflict.

With the exception of Oracle of life who can channel positive.

This.

Any oracle, not just oracles of battle, has access to the righteous might spell. Battle oracles just get it for free.

For the purposes of anything relating to whether they channel positive or negative energy, an oracle that gets cure spells for free is considered to channel positive energy and an oracle that gets inflict spells for free is considered to channel negative energy.

Contributor

FAQ!

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
FAQ!

And what of Druids of the Growth subdomain that wish to have DR as well?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle casting Righteous Might All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions