Constrict, Engulf, and Grab


Rules Discussion


Howdy All,

I've got a question that I'd like clarification on: If X has Y grabbed and X has the constrict or engulf ability...

-If X constricts Y 3 times on their turn, would that mean that at the end of X's turn Y is no longer grabbed?

-If X engulfs Y, does X need to use an action to grab to maintained the grabbed/engulfed condition? OR is Engulf a separate condition, with it's own method of resolution/rules, and it just so happens that IF you are engulfed, then you are also grabbed?

-If X has engulfed Y on X's previous turn, could X constrict 3 times and still maintain their grab by virtue of the creature being engulfed?

Horizon Hunters

If the creature does not use the Grab action to extend the grab, it will end in one of three ways:
1. Automatically at the end of the creature's next turn after initiating.
2. If the initiating creature moves or is moved away.
3. If the Grabbed creature Escapes.

Also please specify if you mean Engulf or Swallow Whole. I will answer Swallow Whole:

Constrict can not be used on Swallowed creatures. Being Swallowed already does damage automatically, applies the Grabbed and Slow 1 conditions and forces the creature to hold their breath, adding additional damage on top of that is too powerful.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Constrict, Engulf, and Grab All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion