Crafting Staves requirements unfinished / unclear?


Rules Discussion


I'm running into a weird situation. Staff entries specifically say the crafting requirements are "supply one casting of all listed levels of all listed spells." And in the general crafting rules, page 535, "an item might require the crafter to provide specific raw materials, supply spells, blah blah." To ME, this sounds like the crafter has to be able to cast the spells. But that seems needlessly restrictive, since the rule info for wands and scrolls specifically have a section called "crafting a *blank*" that specifically say that another person can provide the casting.

I'd assume this means the same requirement could apply - but then that made me think if the staff rules (page 592) specifically do NOT include a "crafting a staff" section because they are intended to work differently. I can't seem to find any official ruling either way, does anybody know if Paizo just forgot to include this section of the book or have said specifically either way?


Being able to "supply" a spell is not the same as being able to "cast" the spell. You can totally have someone else cast it for you.

The rule mostly means a village blacksmith with Macial Crafting can't suddenly craft staffs that contain spells he's never even heard of. He needs a source for the spell. A caster, scroll, wand or somethign similar.


That's sort of my thought, except for the fact that wands and scrolls specifically call it out. Seems odd that Paizo missed writing an entire "crafting a staff" section.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Crafting Staves requirements unfinished / unclear? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.