Diego Rossi
|
1) No. When you are grappled you can make AoO.
2) No.
3) No.
Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.
It is buried in the middle of the text. I was sure it was there but finding it was a core.
N.b.: both the grappler and the grappled suffer from the grappled condition (unless they have the grab ability and decided to try the grapple with a -20 to the check).
| MrCharisma |
It is worth noting: while the "grappler" and "grappled" both have the grappled condition, the one "in control" of the grapple can release the grapple as a free action. This can only be done on your turn, so you can't drop the grapple as someone passes through your space but you could drop the grapple at the end of your turn after gaining control of the grapple if you need to (free actions are still actions and cannot be performed outside your turn except immediate actions and specific exceptions like speech).
| Theaitetos |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
(free actions are still actions and cannot be performed outside your turn except immediate actions and specific exceptions like speech).
That's not quite true. You can take free actions whenever you perform another action. Attacks of Opportunity are not actions, so they do not count, but if you take your Readied Action or an Immediate Action outside your turn, you can also take free actions.
Free Action:
Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.
| AwesomenessDog |
Something I started ruling is that you can take AoO (especially to continue grappling and potentially pin) only the target of your grapple after I had a character in Crimson Throne being drug towards the guillotine pull out a warhammer and coup de grace Pilts Swastel who was ghoul touched round 1 before he got a turn. Realistically, you shouldn't be able to do something that requires the care of coup de grace while being drug away if the same guy can't capitalize on an AoO.
Diego Rossi
|
Something I started ruling is that you can take AoO (especially to continue grappling and potentially pin) only the target of your grapple after I had a character in Crimson Throne being drug towards the guillotine pull out a warhammer and coup de grace Pilts Swastel who was ghoul touched round 1 before he got a turn. Realistically, you shouldn't be able to do something that requires the care of coup de grace while being drug away if the same guy can't capitalize on an AoO.
He had quick draw? Coup de grace is a full round action.
Drugged with what? If the PC actions were hampered it sounds a bit strange.
It seems a very unbalancing change for questionable reasons.
| AwesomenessDog |
He actually had the weapon already out, and "drug" in this context means being carried away (in this case by two extra people assisting in grapple checks to pin and then move). But yeah, even assuming he was alone (because the two assisting both failed bull rush/drag checks to pull the player into a square where the Coup de Grace was illegal) it makes sense why he can't react to someone he isn't grappling, but not for someone he is keeping in a hold. The dropping of guard to line up the swing should allow at least an attempt to wrest him away, if not into a pin.
The only main unbalancing thing I can think of is with spellcasting, but casting defensively should always have an easier DC than any competent grappler's CMB+Spell Level+10.