| Sc8rpi8n_mjd |
Hi everyone.
Reading this spell, I have two questions about it. Hope you can help me.
- Can you fulfill the requirement for the contingency to activate by yourself? So the trigger would be something simple but with some details to not worry about triggering it by accident, like "I touch my forehead with two fingers" (goku style). I think the answer to this is yes, but would like to check anyway.
- I'm not sure to what is referring the text when it says "During the casting, choose a trigger under which the spell will be cast, using the same restrictions as for the trigger of a Ready action". I have read the Ready action, but it doesn't really talk about restrictions, only that you cannot ready a free action that already has a trigger. Can anyone explain this part of the spell to me?
Contingency Spell 7
Abjuration
Source Core Rulebook pg. 326 2.0
Traditions arcane
Deities Nalinivati, Valmallos
Cast 10 minutes (material, somatic, verbal)
Duration 24 hours
You prepare a spell that will trigger later. While casting contingency, you also cast another spell of 4th level or lower with a casting time of no more than 3 actions. This companion spell must be one that can affect you. You must make any decisions for the spell when you cast contingency, such as choosing a damage type for resist energy. During the casting, choose a trigger under which the spell will be cast, using the same restrictions as for the trigger of a Ready action. Once contingency is cast, you can cause the companion spell to come into effect as a reaction with that trigger. It affects only you, even if it would affect more creatures. If you define complicated conditions, as determined by the GM, the trigger might fail. If you cast contingency again, the newer casting supersedes the older.
Heightened (8th) You can choose a spell of 5th level or lower.
Heightened (9th) You can choose a spell of 6th level or lower.
Heightened (10th) You can choose a spell of 7th level or lower.
Ready Two Actions
Concentrate
Source Core Rulebook pg. 470 2.0You prepare to use an action that will occur outside your turn. Choose a single action or free action you can use, and designate a trigger. Your turn then ends. If the trigger you designated occurs before the start of your next turn, you can use the chosen action as a reaction (provided you still meet the requirements to use it). You can’t Ready a free action that already has a trigger.
If you have a multiple attack penalty and your readied action is an attack action, your readied attack takes the multiple attack penalty you had at the time you used Ready. This is one of the few times the multiple attack penalty applies when it’s not your turn.
Thanks!
Cordell Kintner
|
So you would choose a Trigger to cast the Contingency spell. The trigger can be "I take damage" or "I am knocked unconscious" or "I am grabbed" and yes, even "I touch my forehead with two fingers" (I would still count touching your forehead as an action though.) You could even have a trigger off a free action, like "I drop my weapon".
Once the trigger is fulfilled, you use your Reaction for the round to cast the companion spell. The limitations would stop you from using spells that are already reactions. Since it's already a reaction using it with contingency would be pretty useless.
Also, you can't accidentally trigger Contingency since it uses your reaction, which is a choice you as a player makes. There are reactions that trigger if you would be knocked unconscious so that's not that much of a stretch.
| HammerJack |
For limitations on readied actions, the main thing is that the condition has to be something observable in the world. So a trigger like "my turn begins in an encounter" would be invalid for either.