How should i rule on moving through Aqueous Orb?


Rules Discussion


This came up last night in a jailbreak. The druid cast Aqueous Orb to block off a corridor of guards and i ruled that they had to swim through the orb as they had to intentionally move through it thus creating a hilarious moving underwater battle with the paladin which was a lot of fun.

But looking over the spell text which is very long, i think i did this incorrect and they should have made a saving throw to bypass it completely even though they are intentionally trying to move through it. How would any of you rule this?


The spell only mentions making saves when you move the Sphere when you sustain, so I guess that if you move in the sphere space yourself the rulling that you did works fine.


Davido1000 wrote:

This came up last night in a jailbreak. The druid cast Aqueous Orb to block off a corridor of guards and i ruled that they had to swim through the orb as they had to intentionally move through it thus creating a hilarious moving underwater battle with the paladin which was a lot of fun.

But looking over the spell text which is very long, i think i did this incorrect and they should have made a saving throw to bypass it completely even though they are intentionally trying to move through it. How would any of you rule this?

I think the ruling is correct. The saving throw portion only triggers when it is sustained. Otherwise creatures can swim or escape as normal while inside the orb.

A better question would be whether creatures can freely move into or through the orb if it's occupying space, but based on it's mechanics I'd say they can.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / How should i rule on moving through Aqueous Orb? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.