Selling items previously crafted?


Pathfinder Society

3/5 5/55/55/5 *** Venture-Lieutenant, Ohio—Dayton

My crafting focused wizard made the investment of crafting a Wand of Mage Armor (1st) after he got Magical Crafting as a feat. He bought the formula, put down half the cost in base materials, spent 4 days preparing, made his crafting check, and then ran out the days of downtime until he had finished crafting the total cost of the weapon. Now, he could use his wand to cast Mage Armor once each day, without using the spell slot, huzzah.

This worked great, until last scenario when he hit level 7. He can now heighten Mage Armor to 4th to get the bonus to saves. Now, he is back to casting Mage Armor each day, and the wand is superfluous.

Can he sell the wand? If so, what is the base cost for the 1/2 sell back (base materials he put down, or full cost of the wand)?

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

I would think the base cost would be the amount of gold you paid into it. Otherwise, you got the use of the wand for free.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Alternatively, as of the new errata, you can now upgrade that 1st level wand into a 4th level wand by paying or crafting the difference.

Grand Archive 4/5 ****

Gary Bush wrote:
I would think the base cost would be the amount of gold you paid into it. Otherwise, you got the use of the wand for free.

No, you got the use of the wand for the cost of the days of downtime you spent crafting it.

4/5 ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Allen Snyder wrote:

My crafting focused wizard made the investment of crafting a Wand of Mage Armor (1st) after he got Magical Crafting as a feat. He bought the formula, put down half the cost in base materials, spent 4 days preparing, made his crafting check, and then ran out the days of downtime until he had finished crafting the total cost of the weapon. Now, he could use his wand to cast Mage Armor once each day, without using the spell slot, huzzah.

This worked great, until last scenario when he hit level 7. He can now heighten Mage Armor to 4th to get the bonus to saves. Now, he is back to casting Mage Armor each day, and the wand is superfluous.

Can he sell the wand? If so, what is the base cost for the 1/2 sell back (base materials he put down, or full cost of the wand)?

Per the current Guide rules, the value of a crafted item is the full value of the item.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

Thank you Jared.

Nefreet is also correct.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Selling items previously crafted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society