Clarification on Breath Weapon


Rules Questions


https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/hybrid-classes/bloodrager/bloodrager-blood lines/paizo-bloodrager-bloodlines/draconic/#Breath_Weapon_Su

This outlines that the breath weapon is based off bloodrager levels.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/prestige-classes/core-rulebook/dragon-disc iple/#Breath_Weapon_Su

This says it gets a second use if you can already use the breath weapon.

My friend and I have been arguing about whether or not dragon disciple levels would count towards the levels that breath weapon is based off of. Since dragon disciple's blood of dragons adds dragon disciple levels to the bloodline levels, a Bloodrager 5/Dragon Disciple 3 would have a draconic bloodline level of 8, allowing 2 uses of the breath weapon per rest.

The question is: Is the breath weapon currently a 5d6 or an 8d6?


Rules As Written it's 5d6. The only reason I say it should be 5d6 is because Blood of Dragons applies to Sorcerers only, not Bloodragers. But tbh, Blood of Dragons really *ought* to apply to both Sorcs and Bloodragers, and *should* be 8d6 for both, imo. Either this is bad writing or they excluded Bloodragers on purpose, and I think both are dumb. If I was your GM, I'd hand-waive this to 8d6.


There is an faq stating that Blood of Dragons works for Bloodragers.


Java Man wrote:
There is an faq stating that Blood of Dragons works for Bloodragers.

I agree that it should. I think the reason why its written this way is because Bloodragers were created AFTER the Dragon Disciple, and at the time of DD's creation, only Sorc's existed.

I couldn't find the FAQ, you got a linky?


https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gw#v5748eaic9tml

Or search for the ACG faq.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Java Man wrote:

https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gw#v5748eaic9tml

Or search for the ACG faq.

Now in link form.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification on Breath Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.