Tactical Shields and Two-handed weapons


Rules Questions


So I was reading the entry on the tactical shield and I was wondering if you could use that arm to carry a two-handed weapon? I know it says you can't use that arm to wield weapons but if you can still use it to reload and hold objects then shouldn't you still be able to hold onto a gun too? Unsure, I can see it going either way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Hold yes. Fire, no.

There isn't really anything ambiguous.


Yep, you can hold, but cannot fire a rifle or swing a two handed weapon.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Holding the shield so its effective as a shield and so it lets you aim a rifle or swing a sword seems like it would be fairly hard

Sczarni

I agree with the consensus. Hold, but not wield.


Agreed. Hold yes, use no. Though I suppose there's nothing impossible with the idea of a specialized shield with its own in-built rifle mount. I imagine it would both be more expensive than an equivalent shield, and inflict a penalty if you tried to use the rifle while in melee, though.

( For a mental image, imagine a classical era shield wall, only instead of spears poking out next to each shield, there is a rifle barrel poking out of a semi-circular bracket on the edge of said shield. Balanced enough for ranged fire where the shield is providing cover from distance enemies, awkward as hell if you are actually moving the shield like in a melee brawl. )

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Tactical Shields and Two-handed weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions