Archaic Wayfinder


Pathfinder Society

5/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The archaic wayfinder allows a spellcaster to cast a cantrip into it, and it'll hold the cantrip until it has been cast, at which point it becomes empty again. If a non-spellcaster has the archaic wayfinder, is it allowed for one of the spellcaster characters to cast a spell into it? Would it get recorded on the Chronicle sheet, and then remain in the wayfinder until it's cast out of it?

Or, alternately, is there somewhere that there's a cost for spellcasting on cantrips? The spellcasting services chart seems to start a 1st level.

Or is the archaic wayfinder really only useful for non-spontaneous spellcasters who can fill it with one of their own cantrips that they aren't memorizing/preparing that day?

Horizon Hunters 2/5 ***** Venture-Agent, California—Silicon Valley

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You have to Cast a Spell to activate an Archaic Wayfinder. In order to activate an item with "Cast a Spell" you must have a spellcasting class feature and have that spell on your spell list. You also wouldn't be able to save a cantrip, as all spell effects end at the end of a scenario except for a couple of them, which aren't cantrips.

4/5 ****

Cordell Kintner wrote:
You have to Cast a Spell to activate an Archaic Wayfinder. In order to activate an item with "Cast a Spell" you must have a spellcasting class feature and have that spell on your spell list. You also wouldn't be able to save a cantrip, as all spell effects end at the end of a scenario except for a couple of them, which aren't cantrips.

You must have a spell casting tradition to activate an item with the "Cast a spell" activation component.

But only staves, scrolls, and wands specify that the spell in question needs to be in your tradition.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's an odd item. Usefulness seems to depend on the GM.

And I'm unsure what Caster Level the stored Cantrip is then re-cast at.

My Divine Sorcerer had the party Wizard cast Produce Flame into it. Their Caster Level was lower than mine. To err conservatively, I went with their damage dice and Spell Attack roll. But a different GM could just as easily have ruled for me to use mine.

*shrug*

Grand Archive 4/5 ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't know why the above post used my guide team alias. It should have been my personal alias.

That post is *not* a guide team position, the guide team has no position *or* declared opinion on this subject.

4/5 ****

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Unfortunately your second post is from your non-official alias and thus has no authority to change your official statement... Also if one just read through posts from your official alias one might not see the correction.

The joys of too many hats.

Horizon Hunters 2/5 ***** Venture-Agent, California—Silicon Valley

Jared Thaler - Personal Opinion wrote:
Cordell Kintner wrote:
You have to Cast a Spell to activate an Archaic Wayfinder. In order to activate an item with "Cast a Spell" you must have a spellcasting class feature and have that spell on your spell list. You also wouldn't be able to save a cantrip, as all spell effects end at the end of a scenario except for a couple of them, which aren't cantrips.

You must have a spell casting tradition to activate an item with the "Cast a spell" activation component.

But only staves, scrolls, and wands specify that the spell in question needs to be in your tradition.

According to the Activating Items rules, you need a Spellcasting Class feature to Activate an Item with the Cast a Spell activity. This means you absolutely need a class or archetype that provides spell slots. I guess you don't need it on your spell list though.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Archaic Wayfinder All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society