Scrollstaff Question


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I have a couple of questions about the Scrollstaff and the crafting requirements related to it.

Scrollstaff, p. 100 Lost Omens: Character Guide wrote:

A band of pliant wood encircles the head of this slender mahogany staff. The Magaambya created the first scrollstaves millennia ago, and even the few scrollstaves found beyond the organization often incorporate Magaambyan iconography as an homage to their source.

A scrollstaff serves as a weapon just like an ordinary staff and can be improved via runes like any other staff. In addition, if you are capable of creating magical scrolls, you can inscribe a single scroll onto the staff’s head for the same cost as normal for Crafting the scroll. If necessary, you can embed a required material focus into the staff as part of the same Craft activity. As long as you are holding the staff, you can cast the spell from the staff’s head. Casting the written spell works just like casting from a scroll, but you can perform the necessary material component with the staff, even if you don’t have a free hand. Once you cast the inscribed spell, any material focus remains embedded in the staff until removed as an Interact action.

The staff can hold only a single scroll at a time. If you inscribe a new scroll before casting the previous spell, you replace the existing spell and remove any previous material focus as part of the Craft activity to write the new scroll.

First, this item doesn't have the "Staff" tag, so I am assuming that investing it does not count against the "No one can prepare more than one staff per day" in the "Preparing a Staff" section on p. 592 of the Core Rulebook. So I could have the scrollstaff and a separate magical staff, both invested (and the magical staff prepared with charges). Any problem with that interpretation?

Second, when it says "the same cost as normal for Crafting the scroll," does "cost" indicate the cost in both time and money? Can I craft four scrolls per normal ... but one of those scrolls is actually crafted into the scrollstaff, instead of onto a parchment? Or do I have to spend at least 4 crafting days just to craft the one scroll into the staff, as if I were crafting just a single scroll?

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.

A scrollstaff is just a normal staff you can scribe a scroll onto, saving the action of drawing the scroll. It's actually not an invested item either. You can only write one scroll on it, and I would think you have to craft that scroll specifically, not a batch with one going on the staff. But I could be wrong there, it could go both ways to be honest.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks. I missed that it didn't have the "Invested" tag, either.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Scrollstaff Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.