Scroll Trickster: Skim Scroll for Scrolls that could be used without Trick Magic Item?


Rules Discussion


Hey everyone,
one of my party members (a sorcerer) wants to focus on scrolls and asked if there‘s a way to use only one action for drawing und using a scroll.
Then I saw the Scroll Trickster Archetype. specifically Skim Scroll:
You can activate the magic of a scroll with a cursory read as you draw it from your belt. You Interact to draw forth a scroll, then use Trick Magic Item on the scroll.

Trick Magic states:
You examine a magic item you normally couldn’t use in an effort to fool it and activate it temporarily.

Sure, that makes sense for Scrolls he can’t activate because of different magic traditions, but what about Scrolls he could normally use?

Can he also choose to Trick scrolls he normally wouldn’t have to trick, or can Skim Scroll simply not be used for such scrolls? Are there any other ways to draw and use a scroll in one action that I have overlooked?

Shadow Lodge

Skim Scroll <Single Action> (Feat 8) wrote:

Archetype

Source Advanced Player's Guide pg. 189
Archetype Scroll Trickster
Prerequisites Scroll Trickster Dedication
You can activate the magic of a scroll with a cursory read as you draw it from your belt. You Interact to draw forth a scroll, then use Trick Magic Item on the scroll.

This feat just combines drawing the scroll with the use of Trick Magic Item feat into a single action: The actual casting of the spell on the scroll still costs the normal number of actions (maximum of 2 actions since you already spent at least one this turn and Trick Magic Item only lasts to the end of your turn).

If you don't need to 'trick' the scroll, you gain nothing from this feat as you still need one action to draw it.


Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Skim Scroll <Single Action> (Feat 8) wrote:

Archetype

Source Advanced Player's Guide pg. 189
Archetype Scroll Trickster
Prerequisites Scroll Trickster Dedication
You can activate the magic of a scroll with a cursory read as you draw it from your belt. You Interact to draw forth a scroll, then use Trick Magic Item on the scroll.

This feat just combines drawing the scroll with the use of Trick Magic Item feat into a single action: The actual casting of the spell on the scroll still costs the normal number of actions (maximum of 2 actions since you already spent at least one this turn and Trick Magic Item only lasts to the end of your turn).

If you don't need to 'trick' the scroll, you gain nothing from this feat as you still need one action to draw it.

Huh... thanks. You are absolutely right.

I‘m not really sure why I thought an additional action was needed to use a scroll (additionally to drawing the scroll and casting the spell).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Scroll Trickster: Skim Scroll for Scrolls that could be used without Trick Magic Item? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.