Fascinated and multi-target spells


Rules Discussion


Hi everyone,

Fascinated states: "For instance, you might be able to Seek and Recall Knowledge about the subject, but you likely couldn’t cast a spell targeting a different creature."

I'm wondering if it forbids you to use any multi-target spells, like Horrid Wilting or Heightened Slow, as they technically target another creature even if you also target the source of your fascination?

Horizon Hunters

I would say the Fascinated creature could target the source of fascination with an AOE, but they would be the in the center of the effect. Any collateral damage would just be incidental to the caster. They would not, however, be able to use Slow on anyone other than the source, as that would require them to target each creature individually. Assume the Fascinated creature can only target the source of the fascination, and every other creature is effectively hidden from them.


More like undetected then hidden, hidden can still be targeted.

Horizon Hunters

Kennethray wrote:
More like undetected then hidden, hidden can still be targeted.

Hidden creatures can't be targeted unless you pinpoint their location with Seek.

Quote:
You must be able to see it (or otherwise perceive it with a precise sense) to target it normally.

Source


My bad, was thinking concealed. No reason for me to get any of those conditions mixed up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Fascinated and multi-target spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.