| Parzivalssbm |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Hello! My character recently died in my campaign and I am thinking about building a Raven-Blooded Sorcerer. I was looking at their level 1 ability called "Arcane Bladework" and I was confused how it works.
"At 1st level and once every four levels thereafter (5th, 9th, 13th, 17th), you may imbue your sword with a spell, as per the spell storing ability. The spell must be one level lower (or less) than the highest level you can cast, and no greater than 4th level. Imbuing the weapon consumes a daily use of that level spell (0-level spells still consume a 1st-level spell slot), but the spell is expended only on a successful attack. The imbued weapon loses this property if used by someone else and the use of this power is expended. If a natural 1 is rolled for the imbued weapon, it gains the broken condition until repaired. An attack with an imbued weapon with the broken condition that rolls a 1 destroys the weapon."
I am confused on what this means. Do I pick one spell at level 1 and that is the only spell I can ever have stored in my weapon? It says imbuing the weapon consumes a daily use of the spell. Does that mean once the spell has been used it is gone forever, or just until the next day. Can I use the imbued spell multiple times per day, or imbue a different spell once that use has been expended?
I am also confused about the line "and once every four levels thereafter." Does this mean I can have multiple spells stored on the weapon at the same time? Can I pop them all at once, or only once per attack? My DM and I have been looking at this for an hour and we have no idea what the rules for it are.
Thanks in advance for any replies.
| jbadams |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Looks like a third-party bloodline, so the Rules Forum probably isn't the place to ask.
My reading of the ability is that you choose a fixed spell, and that it can be expended once per day.
At higher levels you can choose and imbue additional spells, so yes, the weapon would be holding multiple spells at once. In my opinion it's not clear whether you can choose not to expend on a successful attack, or whether multiple spells are expended at once at higher levels.
| VoodistMonk |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Wow. I read it as you can manifest the Spell Storing property a certain number of times per day... that's it.
You use the rules for Spell Storing to determine whether you can choose to discharge the spell on a successful atrack, or not.
You use your spells to store in said Spell Storing weapon. Like the normal spells you have as a Sorcerer. However, the spell slot is only spent when you discharge it on a successful attack.
I don't see it granting extra spells known just for the Spell Storing property... you already have multiple spells to choose from.
| Parzivalssbm |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Wow. I read it as you can manifest the Spell Storing property a certain number of times per day... that's it.
You use the rules for Spell Storing to determine whether you can choose to discharge the spell on a successful atrack, or not.
You use your spells to store in said Spell Storing weapon. Like the normal spells you have as a Sorcerer. However, the spell slot is only spent when you discharge it on a successful attack.
I don't see it granting extra spells known just for the Spell Storing property... you already have multiple spells to choose from.
Yeah honestly every time I read it I'm not sure which of your reasponses is true. I wouldn't think it grants extra spells known, my main source of confusion comes from whether I have the 1 fixed spell once per day or if imbue spells once that is used up. It says "imbuing" the weapon consumes the daily spell slot... so that implies that I imbue my weapon? Doesn't that mean I imbue via spell storing rules with whichever spell I choose? It almost seems like the first sentence and that statement contradict each other.
Sorry about posting it in the wrong spot, I didn't see there was a 3rd party rules questions forum.| VoodistMonk |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I think it's a floating spell that is chosen when you attack (you ARE a spontaneous caster, you make all your choices in real time), and the slot spent when discharged on a successful attack...
There is no spell in the weapon until you attack with it and declare you are using your Bloodline Power for the attack. There is no action associated with using the power, so it has to be declared with the attack. IF you hit, which is quite questionable with a spellcaster, you discharge whatever spell you chose, and it eats a spell slot.
If you already casted all your 1-4 spells/used those slots... you can't use this ability, as it requires eating a 1-4 spell slot to discharge, even if you imbued the weapon with a Cantrip.
Diego Rossi
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
It is a third party product, Kobold press, so, if they have a forum, that is the best location to ask for clarifications.
That said, the class description says: "Bloodline Powers: You have a natural talent for trickery, information gathering, and swordplay."
So the ability (probably) is meant to enhance swordplay.
I read that this way:
One (or more) times each day you can give the spell storing ability to a weapon, with special characteristics (you can store up to 4th level spells if your level is high enough and the weapon is damaged if you roll a natural 1).
There is no duration for the effect, so the spell stays stored if not used, but you spend the spell slot to charge the weapon only the first day.
Considering the BAB of a sorcerer it seems to have a very limited utility. The capstone allows you to store a level 8th or less spell, but still weak thanks to your BAB. None of the other bloodline abilities seem to have any synergy with this ability.
| Derklord |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
First let me say that it's things like this that make most GMs not allow third party stuff...
Do I pick one spell at level 1 and that is the only spell I can ever have stored in my weapon?
It doesn't say you pick a spell when you get the ability, therefore you can choose anew every time you use the ability (which takes a standard action that provokes AoOs, by the way).
It says imbuing the weapon consumes a daily use of the spell. Does that mean once the spell has been used it is gone forever, or just until the next day.
For the day, it's just as if you had cast the spell. Nothing ever removes spell slots for the future unless it very explicitly says so.
Can I use the imbued spell multiple times per day, or imbue a different spell once that use has been expended?
You can use the ability (not the part on the weapon but the whole stuff, including the cost of a spell slot and the standard action to activate) multiple times per day if your level is high enough. You could pick the same or different spells.
It's not a 100% hard rule, but a weapon can't usually have duplicates of the same ability, and Arcane Bladework basically imposes the spell storing ability, so presume that you can only have one instance active at a time.
As written, the spell storing ability stays on the weapon until activated, but it probably should have a limit of "until the next day".
So here's how it actually works:
As a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity, you can grant your weapon the spell storing ability, picking one spell that you know up to forth level or up to one spell level lower than the highest you can cast, whichever is lower, to store in it. The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action. You expend a spell slot of the same level, or 1st level spell slot if it's a cantrip. Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell you had selected on that creature as a free action if you desire.
You can use this ability once per day, plus one additional time per day for every four levels you have past 1st level.
| Parzivalssbm |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
First let me say that it's things like this that make most GMs not allow third party stuff...
Parzivalssbm wrote:Do I pick one spell at level 1 and that is the only spell I can ever have stored in my weapon?It doesn't say you pick a spell when you get the ability, therefore you can choose anew every time you use the ability (which takes a standard action that provokes AoOs, by the way).
Parzivalssbm wrote:It says imbuing the weapon consumes a daily use of the spell. Does that mean once the spell has been used it is gone forever, or just until the next day.For the day, it's just as if you had cast the spell. Nothing ever removes spell slots for the future unless it very explicitly says so.
Parzivalssbm wrote:Can I use the imbued spell multiple times per day, or imbue a different spell once that use has been expended?You can use the ability (not the part on the weapon but the whole stuff, including the cost of a spell slot and the standard action to activate) multiple times per day if your level is high enough. You could pick the same or different spells.
It's not a 100% hard rule, but a weapon can't usually have duplicates of the same ability, and Arcane Bladework basically imposes the spell storing ability, so presume that you can only have one instance active at a time.
As written, the spell storing ability stays on the weapon until activated, but it probably should have a limit of "until the next day".
So here's how it actually works:
As a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity, you can grant your weapon the spell storing ability, picking one spell that you know up to forth level or up to one spell level lower than the highest you can cast, whichever is lower, to store in it. The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action. You expend a spell slot of the same level, or 1st level spell slot if it's a cantrip. Anytime the weapon strikes a...
This description makes a lot more sense, thank you