Using Nets from APG


Rules Discussion


In the APG was introduced a non-weapon item: the net.

It can be used two different ways : attached to a rope to grapple enemies or unattached, as a ranged immobilizing item.

There's a problem with that second part : "When the net is unattached, you can attempt a ranged attack roll against a Medium or smaller creature within 20 feet."
It specifies that you attempt a ranged attack roll... without specifying any kind of proficiency. Was that part overlooked, or are PCs automatically considered as non-proficient with the net ?


I reckon it would count as an Improvised Weapon, p 278 CRB:

Quote:
Improvised weapons are simple weapons. If you attack with something that wasn’t built to be a weapon, such as a chair or a vase, you’re making an attack with an improvised weapon. You take a –2 item penalty to attack rolls with an improvised weapon. The GM determines the amount and type of damage the attack deals, if any, as well as any weapon traits the improvised weapon should have.

So you use simple weapon proficiency but with a -2 penalty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Using Nets from APG All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion