UMD questions


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Hey guys. Have a couple of questions, so I hope you can help. This is for PFS, btw...but that's beside the point.

So I have a rogue with UMD. He has the Envoy racial trait as well. If he were to take the Minor Magic and Major Magic rogue talent, would he be able to get around using the UMD roll for activation for a wand that has the same spells in it as the ones granted by his rogue talents or the envoy trait?


I’m just some guy but my knee jerk reaction is to say no, you can not bypass UMD as to do so for a wand (spell trigger item)requires your class to be able to cast that spell. When you take that trait and rogue talents they allow you to cast them as spell like abilities.

Grand Lodge

i was thinking the same thing...just wanted to check before possibly progressing down that path


There's a specific FAQ which says no here, your rogue is out of luck.

Grand Lodge

ah...thanks...i figured he wouldn't be able to do it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / UMD questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.