Casting Spells Through Familiars & Invisibility


Rules Discussion


One of players has an Oracle with the Familiar Master archetype, including the Familiar Conduit feat.

If both Oracle and familiar have a non-Heightened Invisibility cast on them and the Oracle uses an offensive spell through the familiar on an opponent -- who becomes revealed? Is it...

a) The familiar, which the offensive spell is originating from against the opponent?

b) The Oracle, because she is using her actions to cast the spell, not the familiar.

c) Both.

From Invisibility: "If the target uses a hostile action, the spell ends after that hostile action is completed."

From Familiar Conduit: "Under your tutelage, your familiar has grown attuned to the hidden currents of the world and can serve as a conduit for your magic. If the next action you use is to Cast a Spell that has a range, the spell uses the familiar as its origin point."

I'm interested in both RAW and RAI, if you see them as different.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

b) The player only: the familiar did nothing active like use an action, let alone a hostile action.


I agree with graystone, the Oracle took the action, didn't command the familiar to take the action. It's no more guilty than a wall that the caster bounced an attack off of.

I'd add an exception for if the two were somehow sharing the same casting of Invisibility. Then it'd end for both since it's one casting unless wording somewhere else suggests otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Casting Spells Through Familiars & Invisibility All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.