| Ravingdork |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The Abundant Step monk feat is listed as Feat 6. It grants a Focus Spell of level 4, which means it cannot be cast until level 7 (when half your level rounded up becomes a 4).
So does that mean the only thing I can get out of this feat as a level 6 Monk is the extra focus point granted by it?
That's odd. Probably a typo.
Focus spells automatically have a level equal to your level divided by 2 (rounded up).
It should probably read 3, rather than 4.
| beowulf99 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
As far as I know, nothing stops you from casting a spell at any level, so long as you have access to it. (Edit: And have a corresponding spell slot if you are trying to cast it from slots. Obviously.)
So if you as say a 3rd level wizard were to find a scroll of a 5th level spell, you could cast it so long as it's on your spell list.
If anyone can find anywhere that does restrict casters from using spells above their level, let me know. I'm not aware that that's a thing.
Edit: While it is true that Focus Spells are automatically heightened, if you somehow did gain access to a Focus Spell that is higher level than half your level, it wouldn't de-heighten as far as I'm aware.
I'm in the camp that believes this is a typo situation, and abundant step should be a 3rd level focus spell. But at the same time, rules as printed, if you got it at 6th from the feat, you'd cast it as a 4th level spell.
This only really matters for someone's attempt to counter act it, so not that big a deal in this case imo. It has no duration, and doesn't have a heightened effect.
Double Edit: Reread Focus Spells:
You can’t cast a
focus spell if its minimum level is greater than half your
level rounded up, even if you somehow gain access to it.
So the answer is: You gain the spell, but can't cast it until 7th, assuming that the spell level is not a typo. Interesting.
| Kelseus |
If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed.
No need. As written the feat doesn't work. Since the writers wouldn't purposely create a feat that doesn't work you should assume it does. At your table, the GM can decide that this is now a 8th level fear or that the minimum level for abundant step is 3rd not 4th.