Staff Nexus Question


Rules Discussion


I am trying to get my head around how the Staff Nexus works with a new Staff.
1st level my wizard has her first staff:
Cantrip: Ray of Frost
1st Level: Magic missile
To prepare my wizard needs to sacrifice a 1st level spell slot, to give her 1 charge.

Later wizard acquires an Animal Staff
Cantrip: Know Direction
1st Level: Summon Animal, Magic Fang

So, during preparation: sacrifice a 1st level slot gives her 1 charge for original spells.
Automatically gets 1 charge for Animal Staff and can sacrifice another 1st level slot to get another charge.
So she could have 3 charges to cast what off this staff?
1 Charge to only use summon animal?
3 Charges to cast any of the spells?

Guidance appreciated


There's a lot already written on this staff.

At first level it doesn't do that much. You put a spell in the staff, you use a spell level to cast it, big deal.

At higher levels you put multiple charges and truestrike into the staff and you can cast True Strike all day. Or you use your power on an existing staff so that you can use its spells more flexibly. For example the Staff of Evocation.


There's a little ambiguity about if you can retain your Staff Nexus features when you pick up a new staff or not. You can certainly craft starter staff into another staff, so say your DM let's you transfer your Staff Nexus features into the staff you found or you use Craft to upgrade your original staff into an Animal Staff:

When you make your daily preparations the Animal Staff will automatically gain charges equal to this highest level spell you can cast. If you're still level 1 it would be a little weird for you to have a Level 4 item Animal Staff but you would get 1 free charge just from the staff. When you reach level 3 on your Wizard and unlock level 2 spells the number of free charges you prepare into the staff will increase to 2.

At the time of preparation you may also expend one of you spell slots to gain additional charges in the staff equal to the slot level. If you're a level 1 Wizard you have only 1st level slots to expend and that will be 1 charge.

At first level if you expend one of your spell slots your staff now contains:
Cantrip: Ray of Frost, Know Direction
1st level: Summon Animal, Magic Fang, Magic Missile
Charges: 2

You can use these charges to cast any of the spells in your staff that exist on your spell list. Magic Fang isn't Arcane but you can spend your two charges to cast Magic Missile twice, Summon Animal twice or to cast one of each of these spells.

When you reach level 3 on your Wizard you'll automatically get 2 charges in the staff with your daily preparation for free (free charges grow with your spell slots). You may then choose to expend a 1st level slot for one additional charge or a 2nd level slot for two additional charges. This means on any given day you might have anywhere from 2 to 4 charges, which can be spent casting any of the staff's spells in a spontaneous-like manner.

The value of Staff Nexus in this case is that it allows you to put one extra 1st level spell into any staff you find (though rules still require some clarification). You should note that the first level spell you choose does not heighten as you level. For this reason it may be advisable to choose a spell that retains its utility throughout your character's growth. At level 11 the ability to cast 1st level Magic Missile spells with your staff charges may not be very useful. The ability to cast Fear or True Strike many times per day may be better for you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Staff Nexus Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.