
Mimski |

Several mech abilities and weapons call out the use of swift actions.
Under Mech actions we are told:
While at least one operator is controlling it, a mech can take one move action per turn and one reaction per round.
Operators can take a full action to pilot a mech, granting it an additional move action or standard action that turn (maximum six additional actions per turn).
From the CRB we know:
You can use your standard action to perform either a move action or a swift action, if you wish, and you can also use your move action to perform a swift action.
So, do mechs not have swift actions unless they trade a move or standard action for one?
Because in that case all those swift action abilities and rules could just use move actions to reduce terminology...Edit:
I guess an example could be useful. The Autospear gives following PP ability:
Projectile Mode (1 PP) As a swift action, the mech reconfigures the autospear from a melee weapon into a ranged weapon that fires flechettes. In this form, the autospear loses the reach and thrown weapon special properties, and it gains the line weapon special property, a range of 100 feet, and a capacity of 5. The autospear’s other statistics do not change. The mech can reconfigure the autospear back into a melee weapon as a swift action or move action, which expends no additional Power Points.
And the ability uses a swift action to change the weapon, while the change back explicitely calls out swift AND move actions. To me it reads a bit as if this was supposed to allow the mech to change the weapon "on the fly", but RAW you need a move action anyway.

Cellion |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Yeah, as far as the rules are written, piloting a mech doesn't grant it a swift action. It seems that it doesn't have one naturally either, which seems quite strange given the abilities that ask for a swift action. I *think* this was an oversight on the part of the devs and that mechs are supposed to have a swift action while piloted.