Using Innate Spells to Cast from a Staff?


Rules Discussion

Verdant Wheel

As the title.
Let's say a character gains an Innate Spell from a source such as the Runescarred Archetype. Can they claim that this spell is "on your list" as towards Casting Spells from a Staff?

Casting Spells from a Staff:
A staff gains charges when someone prepares it for the day. The person who prepared a staff can expend the charges to cast spells from it. You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level. Casting a Spell from a staff requires holding the staff (typically in one hand) and Activating the staff by Casting the Spell, which takes the spell’s normal number of actions...

If not, is it different for an Ancestry Feat such as Adaptive Adept which, instead of being an Innate Spell, is cast "as a spell of your class’s magical tradition"?

Adaptive Adept:
You’ve continued adapting your magic to blend your class’s tradition with your adapted tradition. Choose a cantrip or 1st-level spell from the same magical tradition as your cantrip from Adapted Cantrip. You gain that spell, adding it to your spell repertoire, spellbook, or prepared spells just like the cantrip from Adapted Cantrip. You can cast this spell as a spell of your class’s magical tradition. If you choose a 1st-level spell, you don’t gain access to the heightened versions of that spell, meaning you can’t prepare them if you prepare spells and you can’t learn them or select the spell as a signature spell if you have a spell repertoire.

In a nutshell: How is whether a spell is "on your list" determined when it comes to those obtained from Feats?

Bonus Question:

If either of the two methods above works, can you use the Staff to cast the Heightened versions of those spells?

Why or why not?

Cheers.


It is my understanding that if you do not have a casting Tradition you cannot use a staff. You can’t take Adaptive Adept unless you have a casting tradition (requires you to be able to cast third level spells).

Only the person preparing a staff can use it, and if you don’t have spell slots you can’t prep a staff.

If I was GM though, I’d be flexible with these abilities and using Trick Magic Item. Ask your GM

Verdant Wheel

Lets assume two cases.

One in which you have a Casting Tradition.

One in which you don't have a Casting Tradition.

Also, for the sake of the argument, let's leave Trick Magic Item out of the discussion, as it is unrelated to the question at hand.


Even innate spells have a tradition (i.e. "arcane innate spell" vs. "divine innate spell") - but having a tradition doesn't necessarily mean you have a spell list.

That said, I don't know where to find any text that describes whether your "spell list" includes your innate spells or is otherwise informed by your innate spells, so I'm not sure that having innate spells would let you cast a spell from a staff.

Which means that I think you can't.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You cannot. You have to use spell slots to power a staff, and you can’t use a staff powered by anyone else.

Innate spells do not come from spell slots.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Using Innate Spells to Cast from a Staff? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.