Additional Trained Skills after the first?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

CRB states:
A character gains training in certain skills at 1st level: typically two skills from their background, a small number of predetermined skills from their class, and several skills of your choice granted by your class. This training increases your proficiency ranks for those skills to trained instead of untrained and lets you use more of the skills’ actions. Sometimes you might gain training in a specific skill from multiple sources, such as if your background granted training in Crafting and you took the alchemist class, which also grants training in Crafting. Each time after the first that you would gain the trained proficiency rank in a given skill, you instead allocate the trained proficiency to any other skill of your choice.

Does this apply also after first level? If, say, you take something like an archetype, feat, or otherwise that gives Trained proficiency and you are Trained, does that phrase above still apply? Or does it only apply at first level?

It doesn't specify either way it seems.


I'm not sure I have a RAW answer, but I think yes it should.

Otherwise it's needlessly penalizing someone, forcing them to retrain.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I believe the anewer actually is no, which is why archetypes tend to have text in the dedication specifically addressing what happens if you're already trained in a skill that they grant training in. Usually it's pick another skill, sometimes it's a bump to expert.


I’d have to dig for the rule. But I believe that there is a rule stating it does. This is specific to trained and skills though, if something gives you expert proficiency for instance you don’t get to change your trained stat in a skill to something else.


Took a quick look and it’s on page 233, along with a sidebar on how this only applies to the trained proficiency. The text mentions first level, and that’’s when this is most likely to occur, but it doesn’t ever say this stops applying after first level. For instance a rogue taking the cleric multi-class dedication will likely already have religion trained and thus could take something else.


th3razzer wrote:

CRB states:

A character gains training in certain skills at 1st level: typically two skills from their background, a small number of predetermined skills from their class, and several skills of your choice granted by your class. This training increases your proficiency ranks for those skills to trained instead of untrained and lets you use more of the skills’ actions. Sometimes you might gain training in a specific skill from multiple sources, such as if your background granted training in Crafting and you took the alchemist class, which also grants training in Crafting. Each time after the first that you would gain the trained proficiency rank in a given skill, you instead allocate the trained proficiency to any other skill of your choice.

Does this apply also after first level? If, say, you take something like an archetype, feat, or otherwise that gives Trained proficiency and you are Trained, does that phrase above still apply? Or does it only apply at first level?

It doesn't specify either way it seems.

Yes, but it only applies to becoming Trained, not any levels above that. It's implicitly mentioned in the sidebar.

Quote:

SKILL INCREASES

Skill increases improve your
proficiency in skills of your
choice. You can use these
increases to become trained
in new skills or increase your
proficiency rank in skills you’re
trained in (from trained to
expert at any level, expert to
master at 7th level or higher,
and master to legendary at 15th
level or higher). Unlike when
you first become trained at a
skill, if two different abilities
would make you an expert,
master, or legendary in a skill,
you don’t get to choose a second
skill to become expert in—the
redundant benefit simply has
no effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Additional Trained Skills after the first? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.