Long Arm on an Avian Familiar


Rules Questions


Eagles and Owls have talons without arms. Long Arm specifically calls out that

Long Arm wrote:
Your arms temporarily grow in length, increasing your reach with those limbs by 5 feet.

For this reason is it not legal for an Arcane spellcaster to grant Long Arm to an Avian style basic familiar of Tiny or Diminutive size? I ask only because later on, when they have the money, the caster could make/buy Longarm Bracers and have the familiar wear them since they have the Wrist slot technically.

This isn't for PFS or anything, just theorycrafting about familiars. Again. I may have a problem... :)


It's my understanding that if a spell targets a body part that the target creature doesn't possess then the spell doesn't do anything. Talons are a natural attack that typically goes on feet. Also, it's possible for an animal to have a magic item slot without actually possessing the body part typically associated with that slot. So, even though avians have a wrist slot, it doesn't mean that they have wrists. I mean even camels get wrist slots. In both cases the creators simply decided that these creatures can wear wrist items on their ankles and reap benefits from doing so.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Long Arm on an Avian Familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions