Holding you Breath features, additive or multiplicative?


Rules Questions


Hello! I am actually fairly new to Pathfinder in general, and having just finished making a character for my first ever game. And I cam across something that I found alittle interesting.

So, I noticed that there is a Regional Trait called "Iron Lung":

Pathfinder Player Companion: Kobolds of Golarion wrote:

Iron Lung:

Due to the constant intrusion of marsh gases seeping into the tunnels and chambers of your lair you are accustomed to holding your breath for extended durations.

Benefit(s): You can hold your breath for twice as long and gain a +2 trait bonus on saving throws against the effects of inhaled poisons.


And I am going to be playing an Unchained Rogue (a suggestion form a friend), and I noticed that, starting as early as level 2, you can get the following Rogue Talent:

Pathfinder Unchained wrote:

Hold Breath (Ex):

Benefit(s):A rogue with this talent doubles the amount of time she can hold her breath.


So, my main question is, are these Additive or are they Multiplicative?

If they are additive, it would only be affecting the Base Stat, and would not count towards one another as such (using a Con Score of 15 as example):
Calm: 30 × 3 = 90
Stress: 15 × 3 = 45

But if they are Multiplicative, they would affect one another, so it would lead to the following:
Calm: 30 × 2 × 2 = 120
Stress: 15 × 2 × 2 = 60




Looking at the RAW, it seems to imply that they would stack on each other, making them Multiplicative, but another player that is more seasoned in the game had told me that, RAI, they are Additive.

The DM has told me for at least in their campaign, that we will be doing Multiplicative, but I just wanted to know the facts for incase I ever play in another game.


Pathfinder uses the additive when multiplying. Its listed under Multiplying damage rules, but it is pretty much used for most things that get multiplied.

Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.


Yeah, when you have multiple multipliers to something the way to think about is by adding all the bonus together as 1+(X-1)+(Y-1)+(Z-1) where X, Y, and Z are the multiplier bonuses.

So if you had something that doubled, and tripled, and quadrupled your final multiplier would be calculated as:

1+1+2+3 which would be x6 total, not as 2*3*4 = 24 times.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Holding you Breath features, additive or multiplicative? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions