Does Pull ability automatically grapple?


Rules Questions


I was looking at the Reaching Vines fungal graft and ended up a little confused. It lets the character Pull as a free action but doesn't say anything about grappling or grabbing the target.

How does that work then? The vines lash out, wrap around the target, pull it closer, and then let go?

Some related questions about Reaching Vines:

They're grafted to the wrist. If I turn large or huge, extending my natural reach, what is the reach of the vines? 10' not matter what, 10' past the length of natural reach, or more than 10' based on how big I get?

Would using the vines interfere with other attacks using the same limb?


Sensten wrote:


How does that work then? The vines lash out, wrap around the target, pull it closer, and then let go?

Yup.

Sensten wrote:
If I turn large or huge, extending my natural reach, what is the reach of the vines? 10' not matter what, 10' past the length of natural reach, or more than 10' based on how big I get?

The rule with reach weapons is that their reach gets multiplied by the increase in your natural reach. If that becomes 10' you can reach 20'. If it becomes 15' then you can reach 30' out. I think this would apply here.

Sensten wrote:
Would using the vines interfere with other attacks using the same limb?

Unclear. I mean, I'd think that having vines reaching out from your wrist and attaching to your enemies like this would be inconvenient at best for any other attacks using that arm and wouldn't allow it myself, but I'm not sure that the only one attack per limb (except the head which can use a gore and bite) was ever written down in a book or FAQ.


It's more or less as I thought then. Thanks for the reply

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Pull ability automatically grapple? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions