
Halgur |
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think that any weapon with the thrown trait counts as a ranged weapon when thrown so it should work with Point Blank Shot just fine by itself.
Quote:
Thrown
Source Core Rulebook pg. 283
You can throw this weapon as a ranged attack, and it is a ranged weapon when thrown. A thrown weapon adds your Strength modifier to damage just like a melee weapon does. When this trait appears on a melee weapon, it also includes the range increment. Ranged weapons with this trait use the range increment specified in the weapon’s Range entry.
Emphasis mine.

Halgur |
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Interesting. "Ranged" is neither a trait nor a category for weapons. There is just a chart that lists "Ranged Weapons."
It seems like spitting hairs to me that holding a javelin or dart would allow the stance and a dagger or hatchet would not. I would certainly allow a character to enter into the stance with any of those weapons in games that I GM.