
![]() |

An emanation issues forth from each side of your space, extending out to a specified number of feet in all directions. Because the sides of a target’s space are used as the starting point for the emanation, an emanation from a Large or larger creature affects a greater overall area than that of a Medium or smaller creature. An emanation effect includes the target of the emanation, but the creature creating the effect can exclude the target if desired.
You occupy every square of your mount’s space for the purpose of making your attacks...Anything that affects multiple creatures (such as an area) affects both of you as long as you’re both in the area...Because your mount is larger than you and you share its space, you have lesser cover against attacks targeting you
(quotes edited for brevity but linked for entirety)
So if I'm medium, mounted on a large creature, and I cast an emanation spell, such as Acidic Burst, will it emanate from the borders of my mount's space, and thus not only have a larger area of effect, but also keep my mount safe?

pad300 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
"You create a shell of acid around yourself that immediately bursts outward."
Acidic burst is an explosion of acid outwards from you, not you and your mount.
If it gets ruled the way you want it in this thread, it wouldn't affect anything in your (or your mount's) squares - so no affect in a grapple, on swarms, on tiny faeries that have closed to you, etc....

Castilliano |

It's a decent question though I'd have to err on the side of the spell remaining the same size and the mount not gaining immunity.
Mounted Combat specifies your attacks, which if meant as the trait would not include emanations. So you'd have to choose one square (for medium/small casters) from which to cast your spell.
Hilariously, this would damage a large mount, meaning that the rider should also be affected! I wouldn't enforce that though, both for fairness and because casters can explicitly exclude themselves.
Another question about emanations is whether creatures that share your square(s) are immune. If so, and if mounts were the metric from which to base emanation spells, then one could put several PCs on a Huge mount and emanate like crazy. Too much of a shenanigan for my taste.
On the flip side, then your mount and familiars on your person wouldn't be Blessed when you cast that (as you can only choose to include/exclude the target itself). If Bless does work on them, both would get blasted with Acidic Burst.
I'm thinking the emanation comes from your body and noting edges of your space is more for measuring the area and not so much as for making a doughnut.

![]() |

Mounted Combat specifies your attacks
To be fair, that sentence comes from the "Mounted Attacks" section.
In "Mounted Defense", there's also the snippet "you share its space".
This echoes the same Schrödinger's Rider conundrum that sometimes existed in PF1 though so I'm open to either answer. In posting this I was hoping someone might have a data point I couldn't find.
My Sorcerer/Champion just got a new spell and when I considered the possible combination of Acidic Burst and Excluding your space, I wanted to get second opinions before pulling the trigger.

![]() |

"You create a shell of acid around yourself that immediately bursts outward."
Acidic burst is an explosion of acid outwards from you, not you and your mount.
Yeah, so, by itself, you would be correct. But Acidic Burst is an Emanation, so we have to consider how Emanations work. The part you're quoting is flavor text. Mechanically, Emanations burst out from the borders of your space (and only include yourself if you want them to).
And when Mounted, you share your Mount's space.
If it gets ruled the way you want it in this thread, it wouldn't affect anything in your (or your mount's) squares - so no affect in a grapple, on swarms, on tiny faeries that have closed to you, etc....
None of those three examples really work.
A grappling creature still occupies its own space, it's just adjacent to you.
A tiny opponent wouldn't fall under the rules for mounts (perhaps a case could be made for Bloodseekers, though).
And you can still target yourself if you want to, so a Swarm occupying all of your squares could still be blasted.