Burn it! interaction with alchemist fire


Rules Discussion


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hey people,

I am quite new to pf2e and I will play an alchemist for sure.
Now i stumbled over the "Burn it!" feat and was wondering how this would apply on the alchemists fire?

Burn It!:
Fire fascinates you. Your spells and alchemical items that deal fire damage gain a status bonus to damage equal to half the spell’s level or one-quarter the item’s level (minimum 1). You also gain a +1 status bonus to any persistent fire damage you deal.

lesser Alchemists fire deals:
1d8 fire damage + 1 fire splash damage + 1 persistent fire damage

Does Burn it apply to all fire damage?
-> 1d8+1 fire damage+ 2 fire splash damage+ 2 persistent fire damage?
or rather
-> 1d8+1 fire damage+ 1 fire splash damage+ 2 persistent fire damage?


Birdie, good question. One of my players has a goblin sorcerer and I have wondered the same thing. Luckily, he has only used Produce flame and Flaming sphere. Easy to just add the +1 fire damage and persistent damage. The splash damage is the true question?

Liberty's Edge

1d8+1 fire damage+ 2 fire splash damage+ 2 persistent fire damage

That's how I'd run it. They took the feature, give em an edge here IMO even if it's a bit ambiguous.


Darkwynters wrote:
Birdie, good question. One of my players has a goblin sorcerer and I have wondered the same thing. Luckily, he has only used Produce flame and Flaming sphere. Easy to just add the +1 fire damage and persistent damage. The splash damage is the true question?

especially when using sticky bomb later it will play a bigger roll whether it applies on the splash part or not.


I don't think it applies to the splash damage. A character who gets plus one damage to their strikes doesn't apply plus one to their weapon die and plus one to their flaming Rune die, so why would this be any different?


Aratorin wrote:
I don't think it applies to the splash damage. A character who gets plus one damage to their strikes doesn't apply plus one to their weapon die and plus one to their flaming Rune die, so why would this be any different?

with the question above i intended to clarify whether the feat affects splash damage in generell. The example was wrong nevertheless.

splash says "Add splash damage together with the initial damage against the target before applying the target’s resistance or weakness."

How i understand it Burn it! interacts like this:
(primary damage + splash)+ status bonus (Burn it!)

So if i used sticky with a lvl 1 alchemist fire(i just ignore calculated splash atm) the target would take:

(1d8 + 1splash) +1(status bonus) direct firedamage
(1+ 1splash) +1(status bonus) persistent firedamage

But what happens if i miss and only deal the splash damage?
Do i deal 1 or 2 splash damage on a miss?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Burn it! interaction with alchemist fire All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.