Intelligent magic items and Will saves


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I am not sure if unattended intelligent magic items asked to roll Will are intended to only roll [[1d20+Wis]] or if they should be rolling [[1d20+2+(CL/2)+Wis]].

Relevant section of Magic Items in CRB wrote:
A magic item doesn't need to make a saving throw unless it is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save. Magic items should always get a saving throw against spells that might deal damage to them—even against attacks from which a nonmagical item would normally get no chance to save. Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item's saving throw bonus equals 2 + 1/2 its caster level (rounded down). The only exceptions to this are intelligent magic items, which make Will saves based on their own Wisdom scores.


Unattended or Targeted for Saves:
1d20 + Will Save Bonus for Will Saves Only for Intelligent Items.
1d20 + (1/2) CL for Fortitude and Reflex Saves for Intelligent Items.
1d20 + (1/2) CL for all saves for Non-Intelligent[/b] Items.
1d20 for {Edit: Attended} Non-Magical Items in circumstances that would allow for a save (such as a fortitude save vs Shatter{Edit: Break}, but not Reflex for a fireball).
{Edit: Unattended Non-Magical Items do not receive saves.}
**Fixed (Sorry)


That, except (edit: unattended) non-magical items do not get a saving throw versus shatter--they're either shattered or they aren't, depending on composition and/or weight.

Edit:

Damaging Objects wrote:
Unattended Non-Magical Items: Non-magical, unattended items never make saving throws. They are considered to have failed their saving throws, so they are always fully affected by spells and other attacks that allow saving throws to resist or negate. An item attended by a character (being grasped, touched, or worn) makes saving throws as the character (that is, using the character’s saving throw bonus).


Meant the Break spell; I got it confused with Shatter. Also meant attended, I glossed over that.
Thanks for correcting me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intelligent magic items and Will saves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.