| xris |
I'm unclear as to what the Mighty Rage free action gives you. I'm finding the wording a bit obscure.
Mighty Rage [free-action]
Barbarian [trait]
Trigger: You use the Rage action on your turn.
Use an action that has the rage trait. Alternatively, you can increase the actions of the triggering Rage to 2 to instead use a 2-action activity with the rage trait.
Is it basically telling me that I get a discount of 1 Action when taking Rage Actions (but only on the turn I actually Raged?
Examples:I can use Share Rage (page 91) as a free action?
Furious Sprint (page 91) effectively only takes one action instead of two? At least, for the first part of the description where you stride up to five times your Speed.
| Captain Morgan |
I'm unclear as to what the Mighty Rage free action gives you. I'm finding the wording a bit obscure.
Page 86 of Core wrote:Mighty Rage [free-action]
Barbarian [trait]
Trigger: You use the Rage action on your turn.
Use an action that has the rage trait. Alternatively, you can increase the actions of the triggering Rage to 2 to instead use a 2-action activity with the rage trait.Is it basically telling me that I get a discount of 1 Action when taking Rage Actions (but only on the turn I actually Raged?
Examples:
I can use Share Rage (page 91) as a free action?
Furious Sprint (page 91) effectively only takes one action instead of two? At least, for the first part of the description where you stride up to five times your Speed.
Yes, that is correct all around.
| Castilliano |
Once.
So not for each Rage action that turn, only the first Rage action that turn.
The ability may be clearer to come at it from the other direction;
When not Raging, you can take a Rage action as you enter Rage (which doesn't require its normal one action).
So if a Barb had Spirit Instinct and Spirit's Wrath (1 action), she could fire off Spirit's Wrath and enter Rage using the same action. For her next two actions, she would not get any action discount. Each following Spirit's Wrath use during that Rage would take one action as normal.
I'm a tad surprised Paizo didn't future-proof the ability for potential 3-action Rage abilities.
| xris |
Once.
So not for each Rage action that turn, only the first Rage action that turn.
Interesting. What makes you think it only applies to the first Rage Action? I don't see anything that suggests it only apples to the first Rage Action you take.
Ah, I see what the problem is. If you could apply this more than once then you could spam an infinite number of 1 Action Rage actions for free.
I still don't see why it should only apply to the first Rage action (after entering Rage) you take. Why can't you decide to apply it to the second Rage action you take?
The ability may be clearer to come at it from the other direction;
When not Raging, you can take a Rage action as you enter Rage (which doesn't require its normal one action).
I would disagree. The wording of Mighty Rage, to me at least, suggests that you always pay for entering Rage (since this is the trigger) and Mighty Rage gives a discount on a following action that has the Rage Trait.
Or is that what you are saying? Your response seems to suggest that you think you can enter Rage as a free action due to Mighty Rage.
So if a Barb had Spirit Instinct and Spirit's Wrath (1 action), she could fire off Spirit's Wrath and enter Rage using the same action. For her next two actions, she would not get any action discount. Each following Spirit's Wrath use during that Rage would take one action as normal.
This might just be semantics but I don't think you "fire off Spirit's Wrath and enter Rage using the same action". I think you enter Rage using an Action and Mighty Rage allows you to then fire off Spirit's Wrath as a free action.
I'm a tad surprised Paizo didn't future-proof the ability for potential 3-action Rage abilities.
There are existing 3 Action Rage abilities, the Furious Sprint feat I mentioned has a 3 Action option. The current wording of Mighty Rage suggests you can't use it and reduce this 3 Action version of the feat down to 2 Actions.
My guess would be that they didn't want to future proof it.
| Aratorin |
Castilliano wrote:Once.
So not for each Rage action that turn, only the first Rage action that turn.Interesting. What makes you think it only applies to the first Rage Action? I don't see anything that suggests it only apples to the first Rage Action you take.
Ah, I see what the problem is. If you could apply this more than once then you could spam an infinite number of 1 Action Rage actions for free.
I still don't see why it should only apply to the first Rage action (after entering Rage) you take. Why can't you decide to apply it to the second Rage action you take?
Castilliano wrote:The ability may be clearer to come at it from the other direction;
When not Raging, you can take a Rage action as you enter Rage (which doesn't require its normal one action).I would disagree. The wording of Mighty Rage, to me at least, suggests that you always pay for entering Rage (since this is the trigger) and Mighty Rage gives a discount on a following action that has the Rage Trait.
Or is that what you are saying? Your response seems to suggest that you think you can enter Rage as a free action due to Mighty Rage.
Castilliano wrote:So if a Barb had Spirit Instinct and Spirit's Wrath (1 action), she could fire off Spirit's Wrath and enter Rage using the same action. For her next two actions, she would not get any action discount. Each following Spirit's Wrath use during that Rage would take one action as normal.This might just be semantics but I don't think you "fire off Spirit's Wrath and enter Rage using the same action". I think you enter Rage using an Action and Mighty Rage allows you to then fire off Spirit's Wrath as a free action.
Castilliano wrote:I'm a tad surprised Paizo didn't future-proof the ability for potential 3-action Rage abilities.There are existing 3 Action Rage abilities, the Furious Sprint feat I mentioned has a 3 Action option. The current wording of Mighty Rage suggests you can't use it and reduce this 3 Action version of the...
You are conflating the Rage Action with Actions that have the Rage Trait. It is not possible to take the Rage Action twice in a turn. The ability allows you to use an action that has the Rage Trait for free, when you take the Rage Action.
RAGE [one-action]BARBARIANCONCENTRATEEMOTIONMENTALRequirements You aren’t fatigued or raging.You tap into your inner fury and begin raging. You gain a number of temporary Hit Points equal to your level plus your Constitution modifier. This frenzy lasts for 1 minute, until there are no enemies you can perceive, or until you fall unconscious, whichever comes first. You can’t voluntarily stop raging. While you are raging:• You deal 2 additional damage with melee weapons and unarmed attacks. This additional damage is halved if your weapon or unarmed attack is agile.• You take a –1 penalty to AC.• You can’t use actions with the concentrate trait unless they also have the rage trait. You can Seek while raging.After you stop raging, you lose any remaining temporary Hit Points from Rage, and you can’t Rage again for 1 minute.
The trigger is when you use the Rage Action. So you use the Rage Action. You then immediately get to use a Free Action to use an Action with the Rage Trait.
| Castilliano |
You're right, that is all semantics. And the way you're parsing the rules, I'm surprised you were unclear. Like other free actions, Mighty Rage happens only once per trigger, in this case entering Rage.
I explained Mighty Rage in a way that would help people understand the net effect, so one could see how it plays out in practice. There's a difference in the terminology, but not in what effects & abilities could/would play out. It's like using subtraction to show you how the initial addition worked.
(I was going to add that Ready Actions & some enemy Reactions could make the difference in terminology important, except Mighty Rage explicitly only works on your own turn.)
You can't use Mighty Rage on your second Rage action that turn because Mighty Rage is immediate, like other triggered abilities.
-Start not in Rage, so unable to use Rage abilities.
-Use one action to enter Rage.
-That triggers Mighty Rage's free action, which lets you take an action (as part of the free action, so for no action cost) for a Rage ability. There is no lag here, it happens effectively concurrently.
-That action, the one given by Mighty Rage's free action, can be part of a two-action Rage ability (though not a three-action ability.)
-After that the Barb can choose to use another Rage ability (if they have sufficient actions left), but that'd have no connection to Mighty Rage.
| xris |
Thanks to all who answered. I'm beginning to see the difference between what I'm seeing and what others are seeing.
I took "You use the Rage action on your turn" to mean that sometime during your turn you have used the Barbarian Class Feature, Rage, and have spent the required 1 Action. The trigger occurred sometime during your turn.
Maybe "You used the Rage action on your turn" or "You used the Rage action during your turn" would be more accurate to what I was seeing.
What I now get is that "You use the Rage action on your turn" means "You have just used the Barbarian's Rage Class Feature". This is an instant, that's why it can only be applied once. I was taking that it was something that applied over your entire turn.
To be clear, taking the Barbarian Class Feature "Rage" is not a "Rage Action" since the action described on page 84 doesn't include the Rage Trait. While it does say on Page 84 "You gain the Rage action", this is (to me :) ), different from "you take a Rage Action". "Action" and "action" are different.
This is what I assume Captain Morgan meant by The old "similar name but different" problem strikes again.
OK, thanks all, I'm getting there!
| Captain Morgan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Thanks to all who answered. I'm beginning to see the difference between what I'm seeing and what others are seeing.
I took "You use the Rage action on your turn" to mean that sometime during your turn you have used the Barbarian Class Feature, Rage, and have spent the required 1 Action. The trigger occurred sometime during your turn.
Maybe "You used the Rage action on your turn" or "You used the Rage action during your turn" would be more accurate to what I was seeing.
What I now get is that "You use the Rage action on your turn" means "You have just used the Barbarian's Rage Class Feature". This is an instant, that's why it can only be applied once. I was taking that it was something that applied over your entire turn.
To be clear, taking the Barbarian Class Feature "Rage" is not a "Rage Action" since the action described on page 84 doesn't include the Rage Trait. While it does say on Page 84 "You gain the Rage action", this is (to me :) ), different from "you take a Rage Action". "Action" and "action" are different.
This is what I assume Captain Morgan meant by The old "similar name but different" problem strikes again.
OK, thanks all, I'm getting there!
Well you are getting there a lot quicker than some conversations we've had around here on similar things, so good job! (thumbs up)