Can you invest in two of the same items?


Rules Discussion


Having two of the sames items may be silly and its not like you'll have the coin for the same higher level items. In Pathfinder 1e you had item slots to prevent having more than one of the same slot items, as in you wouldn't benefit from two belts or two hats so on and so forth. However let take BRACELET OF DASHING into consideration.

Bracelets of Dashing Item 3
Invested Magical Transmutation
Source Core Rule book pg. 607
Price 58 gp
Usage worn; Bulk L
This jangling, silvery bracelet makes you lighter on your feet, giving you a +1 item bonus to Acrobatics checks.

Activate Single Action command; Frequency once per day; Effect You gain a +10-foot status bonus to Speed for 1 minute.

I understand that the +1 item bonus wont stack to become a +2 item bonus to acrobatics but would you be able to benefit +10 foot status bonus to speed for 1 minute twice a day? Once for each bracelet.


Sure. I'd even let you wear more of them. Lots of people wear multiple bracelets on each arm.


There is nothing rules-wise stopping anyone from wearing and investing multiples of the same item. It would, however, be completely pointless as bonuses of the same type don't stack.

CRB p. 444 wrote:
There are three other types of bonus that frequently appear: circumstance bonuses, item bonuses, and status bonuses. If you have different types of bonus that would apply to the same roll, you’ll add them all. But if you have multiple bonuses of the same type, you can use only the highest bonus on a given roll—in other words, they don’t “stack.” For instance, if you have both a proficiency bonus and an item bonus, you add both to your d20 result, but if you have two item bonuses that could apply to the same check, you add only the higher of the two.


Aaron the Paisley wrote:
There is nothing rules-wise stopping anyone from wearing and investing multiples of the same item. It would, however, be completely pointless as bonuses of the same type don't stack.

The question wasn't if the bonus stacks but if you can use the Effect twice a day, once for each bracelet.


At my table, I would rule no, since it is a status bonus. However the argument could be made for one effect per bracelet. I think it pretty much comes down to a table ruling by your GM. I don't know what the ruling would be for PFS, though, if that's the reason for the question.

Liberty's Edge

I would let it fly, after all, you would have invested the Coin for the second bracelet after all and it doesn't seem to have any game-breaking consequences to allow this really.


Aaron the Paisley wrote:
However the argument could be made for one effect per bracelet.

That is the whole point to my question. It was never anything to do with the bonuses.


I would be ok with it


Eldak Norrinson wrote:
That is the whole point to my question. It was never anything to do with the bonuses.

Except that the question is about a status bonus granted by an item.


Okay I see the confusion now, yes it did say status bonus. What i should have said can you use the EFFECT to grant you a +10 foot status bonus twice a day. Once for each bracelet giving you a total of (2) 1 minute uses.


I would personally say it is okay (partially because you overpaid for the second use and it reduces the further options you can have)

But your gm has to be the final arbiter to that

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you invest in two of the same items? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.