Hydraulic Push on an Ooze...


Rules Discussion


So my group is running. fall of Plaguestone, and against the fight with the Blood Ooze, the group’s Sorceror rolled a critical hit with a Hydraulic Push.
Now, Oozes are normally immune to critical, and as as per the CRB:

Core Rule Book, Pg. 451 wrote:
Immunity to critical hits works a little differently. When a creature immune to critical hits is critically hit by a Strike or other attack that deals damage, it takes normal damage instead of double damage. This does not make it immune to any other critical success effects of other actions that have the attack trait (such as Grapple and Shove).

So, the damage would be normal damage. But, a Hydraulic Push, on a critical, does 6d6 and is pushed back 10 feet instead of 3d6 and a 5-foot push.

So, against the ooze, is 3d6 damage and a 10-foot push the correct answer?


That's how I read it, yes.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook Subscriber

I would agree with that as well. Great example.

Dark Archive

I just ran into this tonight in Age of Ashes against a gelatinous cube. I have to disagree in that the second part doesn't apply to the first part. It says "of other actions that have the attack trait" which given the examples of grapple and shove are specific actions that don't cause damage. However, in this case it is part of an action that does do damage regardless of outcome. Therefore the extra damage would be negated.

If you would try to grapple an ooze and roll a critical success, you would gain the benefit of a critical success. The same with shoving it.


dm4hire wrote:

I just ran into this tonight in Age of Ashes against a gelatinous cube. I have to disagree in that the second part doesn't apply to the first part. It says "of other actions that have the attack trait" which given the examples of grapple and shove are specific actions that don't cause damage. However, in this case it is part of an action that does do damage regardless of outcome. Therefore the extra damage would be negated.

If you would try to grapple an ooze and roll a critical success, you would gain the benefit of a critical success. The same with shoving it.

Nobody is debating that. All 3 posts said that it deals normal damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hydraulic Push on an Ooze... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion