True Strike


Rules Discussion


Can a caster of True Strike target his or herself only?


Yes.


Quote:
A glimpse into the future ensures your next blow strikes true. The next time you make an attack roll before the end of your turn, roll the attack twice and use the better result. The attack ignores circumstance penalties to the attack roll and any flat check required due to the target being concealed or hidden.

What you are basically asking is "Do I make an attack roll to strike myself?".

Given that touch attacks hit automatically, I would say that no, you touch yourself without making an attack roll.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

??

True strike is not a touch spell. It has neither range nor target. You cast it with a Verbal component, and the text happens.

Quote:

Duration until the end of your turn

A glimpse into the future ensures your next blow strikes true. The next time you make an attack roll before the end of your turn, roll the attack twice and use the better result. The attack ignores circumstance penalties to the attack roll and any flat check required due to the target being concealed or hidden.


I think they were asking "After I cast true strike on myself, can I target something else on myself and have it benefit from true strike?"

I think no because you don't make an attack roll for self target or touch attack.

I suppose you could shoot yourself with a ray, or those lame crossbows that wizards usually carry, and by RAW you'd roll for it, and true strike would come on. But my exploit sense is tingling so I'd rather not go down that road.

Shadow Lodge

I read the question as 'can I give the benefits of this spell to another character?'

The answer is No: It specifically helps your next attack roll, not those of an ally.


Taja the Barbarian wrote:

I read the question as 'can I give the benefits of this spell to another character?'

The answer is No: It specifically helps your next attack roll, not those of an ally.

Taja, that was what I intended to communicate. Thank you all for your assistance.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, LO Special Edition, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Nope, See the "reading spells" section of the book page 306

Quote:


Range, Area, and Targets This entry lists the range of the spell,
the area it affects, and the targets it can affect, if any. If none
of these entries are present, the spell affects only the caster.
"

Reading Spells

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / True Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.