Grab clarification


Rules Discussion

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I'm trying to get clear on a couple of minor Grab things.

Grab says that it lasts until the end of the creature's next turn, during which the creature can use Grab again to extend another round. Is there still an option for the creature to release the grab early? (I'm focusing on the Bestiary creature trait here.)

Now that Grab is an action, I'm not sure there is much benefit to releasing unless whatever you grabbed with is your only attack. So can you choose to release, or is the duration of your grab fixed and it either ends or you renew it?

Also, if a creature initiates a grab, does the creature also gain the grabbed condition like PF1 had happen with grappled? I can't see anything that states a mutual grab, just the restriction that the creature cannot use the body part to Strike.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No reason a creature couldn't let go, if they want.

The grabbed condition is one way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

As for reasons to let go:

1: The creature wants to attack with the relevant limb.

2. The creature wants to let go and move away.

3. The creature has long reach, has grabbed a creature that doesn't have the ability to reach it, and doesn't want its limbs hacked at.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
TomParker wrote:
Also, if a creature initiates a grab, does the creature also gain the grabbed condition like PF1 had happen with grappled? I can't see anything that states a mutual grab, just the restriction that the creature cannot use the body part to Strike.

No, there is no mutual grab. Though.. a grabbed creature could grab back if they wanted, of course.

I really like that about PF2. Grapple was "fixed" going from D&D 3.5 to PF1, but it was STILL fairly complicated. Man, I can't remember how it was in 3.5, but it must have been a doozy!

Now, clean and simple. If you get grabbed, you're immobilized and flat footed, and the only restriction on the "grabber" is that if they move away, they let go of the grab. Simple, beautiful, elegant.

...remember in past editions when you entered the grappler's square and etc etc etc? Oof!

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Agreed. I'd liking how much simpler it is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Grab clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.