Magic Item Creation


Rules Questions


I want to craft an Enlarge Person magic Item for a party member. Would be a command word item cast at 10th level, so spell level x caster level x 1,800 = 18,000gp base price.

What confuses me is charges per day. The book says to divide the base price by (5÷charges per day). So if I want it to have 5 charges per day, 5÷5=1, so 18,000gp÷1=18,000gp. But if I want it to have 1 charge per day, 5÷1=5, so 18,000gp÷5=3,600gp. Why would an item with more charges per day cost less? I'm clearly doing something wrong.


I'm not sure where you are going wrong. 3600 gp is less than 18000 gp. It looks like you did the math right, but came to the wrong conclusion.

On a side note, I wouldn't use charges for magic items once you are considering 5 or more charges. It stops being a discount at that point. Charges are optional.


It wasn't until I was typing a reply to your comment that I realized I had read that all dyslexic every single time I read it. Geeez I'm dumb lol. Thanks man


No problem. If you have any other questions, I'll be glad to help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Item Creation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.