Attack penalties on reactionary attacks


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My GM wants to know if

1) the multiattack penalty applies to creature attacks made as a reaction, such as the Nalfeshnee's Greedy Grab ability.

2) the multiattack penalty would apply if a creature made multiple reactionary attacks, such as a giant bat using Wing Thrash ability.

Please site rules where possible.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

"The multiple attack penalty applies only during your turn, so you don’t have to keep track of it if you can perform an Attack of Opportunity or a similar reaction that lets you make a Strike on someone else’s turn." - CRB page 446.

I don't see anything about reactions, specifically, affecting the application of MAP. The deciding detail is whether it's your turn. If your ability lets you make an attack as a reaction during your own turn, you get MAP. If it's out if your turn, no MAP. If you make multiple attacks when it isn't your turn, still no MAP.


Generally, the answer is no. As always, there are some exceptions. For example, if you Ready an Attack, you keep the same MAP as you had when readying it. I suppose this is so you won't get nonsense like "I Strike the orc and then Ready to Strike again when he does anything, just so I can bypass the MAP."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Attack penalties on reactionary attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.