Scroll Caster Level Check?


Rules Questions


Me and my players are having a little confusion on this one aspect of activating higher level scrolls.

Ok, they have a Scroll of Dispel Magic and they want to use it. Problem, they're only level 3 and none of them can cast level 3 magic like Dispel Magic.

So we look into the rules for this and it said this:

"If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell’s caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll’s caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. "

What exactly does this mean? The DC is only 6+1 because six is the minimum level to cast level 3 magic? That seems quite low to be able to cast 3rd level magic.

And do they just roll a straight d20? It doesnt say if they get any modifiers in the attempt.

Any clarification would be of great help.


It should be 5+1 DC (3rd level spells are 5th level for wizards and clerics). And yes, it’s easy to use scrolls of spells that are on your class list. It’s generally just the player’s caster level (3) + a D20 roll.


The idea is that the difference between your caster level and that of the scroll is the margin of error. If you're almost high enough, you'll only fail on a 1. If you're barely in your robes and try to use a scroll of time stop, good luck.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scroll Caster Level Check? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions