Orichalcum Weapon & Weapon Properties


Rules Discussion


Orichalcum - "...can have four magic property runes instead of three"

Weapon Potency +1[2,3] - "...weapon can be etched with one [two, three] property rune[s]."

So, how is orichalcum supposed to work since the wording says four instead of three.

Option A) Orichalcum adds +1 property runes to any level weapon potency (i.e. +1 can have 2 weapon properties, etc.)

Option B) Orichalcum only has a benefit when combined with Weapon Potency +3 allowing 4 instead of 3 weapon properties.

Rules as written would indicate option B (otherwise rules should simply say adds 1 weapon property to the number normally allowed with weapon potency), but option B makes the material much more restrictive and less interesting.

Thoughts?


Since it is a lvl 18 material, is say the latter.

You won't be given oricalcum stuff if not lvl 16+ I guess.

Sovereign Court

I would rule that the Orichalcum material overrules the stepped property rune process completely. That material can have 4 property runes by itself, whether it has a Potency Fundamental rune or not.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Samurai wrote:
I would rule that the Orichalcum material overrules the stepped property rune process completely. That material can have 4 property runes by itself, whether it has a Potency Fundamental rune or not.

I can't think of a situation with a 20k gold weapon without fundamentally runes.


Captain Punka wrote:

Orichalcum - "...can have four magic property runes instead of three"

Weapon Potency +1[2,3] - "...weapon can be etched with one [two, three] property rune[s]."

So, how is orichalcum supposed to work since the wording says four instead of three.

Option A) Orichalcum adds +1 property runes to any level weapon potency (i.e. +1 can have 2 weapon properties, etc.)

Option B) Orichalcum only has a benefit when combined with Weapon Potency +3 allowing 4 instead of 3 weapon properties.

Rules as written would indicate option B (otherwise rules should simply say adds 1 weapon property to the number normally allowed with weapon potency), but option B makes the material much more restrictive and less interesting.

Thoughts?

Option A. If you make something with Oirhcalcum, I would rule it could have 1 property rune without a potency rune. Then, when you add a potency rune, it could hold 2 property runes, etc.

Sovereign Court

HumbleGamer wrote:
Samurai wrote:
I would rule that the Orichalcum material overrules the stepped property rune process completely. That material can have 4 property runes by itself, whether it has a Potency Fundamental rune or not.
I can't think of a situation with a 20k gold weapon without fundamentally runes.

That's fine, it can have any fundamental runes it wants, the question was about how many Property runes does it get. I'm just pointing out that the specific rule tends to over-rule any general rules. The general rule is based on the fundamental potency runes. The specific is that Orichalcum items can have 4 property runes, so that is how I would rule it, and ignore the general rule. In other words, they don't add together. The wording doesn't say "the Orichalcum item can hold 1 more property rune than usual," it just says "it can hold up to 4 property runes."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Orichalcum Weapon & Weapon Properties All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.