Actions while wild shaped


Rules Discussion


This is one of those annoying questions about things that could be about GM discretion, but I would hope to get a general idea of what people think.

Two things I was thinking would be possible while wild shaped; command an animal, and maintain a spell.

Command an animal has the auditory trait, and simply says you give an animal orders. While wild shaped (with the exception being dragon form, in which you can speak) you cannot speak. But I would think that giving orders might not mean speaking, it could mean 'barking' orders. Especially if the animal you were commanding was the same species you'd wild shaped into.

The other thing is maintaining a spell while wild shaped. It says you cannot cast spells, but if one had already been cast, the next turn you wild shape and maintain the spell, should that work? I would think yes, but I don't want to cheese the game.

I know both of these probably don't have definite answers and are probably up to GM discretion, but I personally hate that. I would like to plan and play my character and know that there won't be dispute or create a bad atmosphere with people that think I'm not following the rules or stretching them. So hopefully I can get some input!

Thank you.


Bump?

I searched this question and it was asked a couple times with no answers. Maybe right now is a bad time to ask with the flurry of errata stuff going on, but I'm hoping to get a more solid answer by my session this weekend.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Command an Animal is limited to things the animal has been trained to do. Presumably each of those tricks is triggered by a specified keyword. You could (IMHO) train the animal to perform some trick when you bark in a certain way, but you'd have to do that training for each trick you wanted to Command by barking, and then again if you wanted to Command by quacking sometimes too.

The Cast a Spell activity and the Sustain a Spell activity have no intrinsic relation AFAIK, so the fact that battle forms don't allow the former should have no impact on your ability to do the latter.


Thank you fuzzy, that's my line of thinking for both if them as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Actions while wild shaped All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion