Goblin Pox


Rules Discussion


On a failed save it says the enemy is afflicted for 1 round, does that mean the spell ends automatically after 1 round without a save? Or does that mean after 1 round the enemy gets a saving throw to try and cure itself otherwise it will go on for another round until they successfully save.

https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=139


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Let's assume a 1st level wizard, so the DCs are 17 (3 proficiency and 4 Int).
If the target rolls a nat 20, or gets a 27 or better, nothing happens.
If they get a 17-26, they're sickened 1
If they get a 8-16, they get goblin pox at stage 1
If they roll a nat 1, or a 7 or less, they get goblin pox at stage 2.

Goblin pox says:
Stage 1 sickened 1 (1 round)
Stage 2 sickened 1 and slowed 1 (1 round)
Stage 3 sickened 1 and the creature can't reduce its sickened value below 1 (1 day)

So stage 1 they're sickened 1 and make another save after a round. If they succeed they are cured, if they fail they go to stage 2. After a round at stage 2, they roll a save and either go back to 1 or go to three, depending on the success of the save.


Just to clarify, say Goblin pox said "Stage 1 sickened 1 (2 rounds)." If at the end of the first round, you saved and went to cured instead of to stage 2, you would still be sickened for 1 more round. Goblin pox is just an early level DC, so you only have the condition if you still have the affliction. That isn't universal, pretty some afflictions apply conditions that last after the cure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Goblin Pox All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.