Vine Lasher's Light Hold ability


Rules Discussion


My GM and I had a disagreement that I was hoping to get clarified. The vine lasher has the light hold ability which reads:

Light Hold: A creature grabbed by a vine lasher is not immobilized, but the grabbed creature’s space and every adjacent square use the rules for difficult terrain. If the creature moves, the vine lasher moves with it, always keeping the grabbed creature within 10 feet of itself. If two or more vine lashers have a creature grabbed in this way, then the target’s space and adjacent square instead use the rules for greater difficult terrain.

If I move closer to the vine lasher does it get to move away from me for free, or does light hold only move the lasher if I try to move more than 10 feet away from it?


Rule: If the creature moves, the vine lasher moves with it
What is confusing there?
The subordinate clause (the relationship between the lasher and the grabbed creature) doesn't change the rule.

Also the GM can decide where the lasher moves, as long as it meets the condition of keeping the grabbed creature within 10 feet of itself.

Or are you saying that the PC (the grabbed creature) gets to decide where the lasher moves?


I had a question on the the Light Hold ability as well. As stated above "creature grabbed by a vine lasher is not immobilized." Grabbed condition gives the Flat-footed condition (-2 to AC), Immobilized prevent charter from moving.

As a GM I would say the grabbed creature still gets the flat-footed penalty from the grabbed condition. But can still move around bc its not Immobilized.

Dose this seem correct or am I misinterpreting?


That's correct, Conrad.


Thanks for the conformation :D

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Vine Lasher's Light Hold ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.