striking rune and critical strike


Rules Discussion

Grand Lodge

Hi everybody

If my weapon is equipped with a striking rune, I double th dice.

If I roll a 20 on my attack, it's a critical hit ans I double the damage.

So, with a critical hit with my +1 striking sword, it's three times the dice ou four times (1X2X2)?

I think it's three times, but rules aren't clear.

Thanks


You roll the damage normal (i.e. 2d8+4), then double the result. The same is true for nearly any source of damage. You add all up and then you double the result on a crit.

The only exceptions are effects that specify that they are added to the crit, such as the extra damage from the Deadly and Fatal weapon traits.


You don't double the dice with a striking rune, you add one die. And then you double that on a crit.

Grand Lodge

Ok, so it's four times.

Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / striking rune and critical strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.