Missing With Touches


Rules Discussion


So, silly question I know, but what happens if you miss with a melee touch spell in PF2? We were in game today and I missed with a Shocking Grasp, and we weren't sure if the spell stuck around, as it did in PF1, or if it was simply expended, and I can't find rules that expressly say either way.

I'm leaning on the idea that if you miss then you're out of luck since that would be casting the spell, but if anyone with more rules fu than me can chime in one way or another that'd be great.


Touch spells are one shot & gone. Missing wastes them.

That said, many touch spells that required an attack in PF1 now do not.
If there's a melee spell attack roll, there's typically no saving throw.
If it has no spell attack roll, there typically is a saving throw.

There are ranged spell attack roll spells w/ saves like Disintegrate, so there could be touch ones too.


Cool. That's what I thought. It's a mild bummer, but on the other hand it offers up material in the future for feats and classes who can hold onto spells until they strike, so I'm not too bummed over it.

Could be a thing the possible future magus can do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Missing With Touches All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.