Can a spontaneous caster use a higher-level spell slot to cast a lower-level spell?


Rules Discussion


Let's say a 7th-level divine sorcerer wants to heal her friend using Neutralize Poison (which is in her spell repertoire). She has no more 3rd-level spell slots left, but has 4th-level spell slots available.

Can she cast Neutralize Poison?

I don't see this explicitly called out in the rulebook, but it makes sense to me that a spontaneous caster could. I view their slots as "spell energy" that they can use to produce a less-powerful effect.


In first edition you could so I can't see why wouldnt be able to in 2nd edition


1 person marked this as a favorite.

By RAW, no you can't. You also can't downgrade your cantrips willingly (because that 60 ft light spell might be a bit excessive when you try to be subtle).

That being said, spending a higher level resource for a lower level effect is unlikely to break anything. So I'd allow it. Just be sure to treat that Neutralize Poison as 3rd level spell, not 4th level spell when it comes to the counteract check.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can a spontaneous caster use a higher-level spell slot to cast a lower-level spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.