Focus / Cantrip Voluntary Undercasting (Specifically for Wild Shape)


Rules Discussion


Are you allowed to cast a cantrip or a focus power at a lower level than half your character level rounded down? For most cantrips and focus powers you wouldn't ever want to do this but for example Wild Shape looks like it will run into issues where you can't ever transform into smaller creatures at higher levels making it very circumstantial in any campaign that isn't outside in wide open spaces.

Look at the example below:

Wild Shape
When you transform into a form granted by a spell, you gain all the effects of the form you chose from a version of the spell heightened to wild shape's level.

Ferocious Shape
You have mastered the shape of ferocious dinosaurs. Add the forms listed in dinosaur form to your wild shape list.

Dinosaur Form
You channel the primal forces of nature to transform into a Large animal battle form...

Heightened (5th) Your battle form is Huge...

Heightened (7th) Your battle form is Gargantuan...

Based upon my reading you would be forced to turn into a huge creature at level 10 and a gargantuan creature at level 14. Polymorph now automatically fails if there is insufficient space to transform meaning that the feats to grant extra forms get less useful over time.


You should be able to "undercast" Wild Shape at least, if for no other reason than because of Form Control which requires you to use a 2 level lower than your max form to have it last an hour.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Focus / Cantrip Voluntary Undercasting (Specifically for Wild Shape) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.