
![]() |

Hi all! First post here. I'd like to get your feedback on how I'm interpreting the rules.
I'm building a troll NPC Barbarian 2, and giving him the Lesser Fiend Totem rage power (Advanced Player's Guide p.75)
The APG wrote:
While raging, the barbarian grows a pair of large horns, gaining a gore attack. This attack is a primary attack (unless she is also attacking with weapons, in which case it is a secondary attack) and is made at the barbarian’s full base attack bonus (–5 if it is a secondary attack). The gore attack deals 1d8 points of piercing damage (1d6 if Small) plus the barbarian’s Strength modifier (1/2 if it is a secondary attack).
This was apparently written for a normal PC barbarian, and not for a troll, so I had to make some modifications. I bumped the gore damage up from 1d8 (medium) to 2d6 (large). I think this is pretty standard.
The table "Natural Attacks by Size" says that Bite, Claw and Gore are all primary attacks. The troll barbarian won't be using any weapons, just his natural attacks. The troll's bite and claw are both primary in the write-up, so I'm making his gore primary as well.
Is that how you all read it?