Converting a Season 0 character


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

1/5

So I got curious how Appendix 4 in the 6.0 PACS guide worked so I got out an old season 0 character that hasn't been converted to the tier system (due to not having played it since 2014). Here is what happened:

My character Tarlin completed 0-1A thru 0-1D and 0-1F. Tarlin had one skill feat (+1 Con) and 1 power feat (+1 hand size).

So going in order according to Appendix 4:

Spoiler:
If you completed more than one scenario, do the
following.
• Note which skill, power, and card feats you took. Then
uncheck those feats.
• Determine your tier: It matches is the # of the highest
adventure in which you have completed at least two
different scenarios. For example, if you have completed 2
different scenarios in Adventure 4, but not in Adventures
5 or 6, your character is Tier 4.
• Determine the number of experience points (XP) you
have by counting the number of different scenarios you
have completed within your tier. For example, if your
Tier 4 character has completed 2 different Adventure 4
scenarios, you have 2 XP. If you have at least 3 XP, you
may spend them all to advance to the next tier. If you
have at least 6 XP, you must spend them all to advance to
the next tier.
• If your character is Tier 4 or higher, select a role. (If your
character had already selected a role, keep that role.)
• Gain a number of skill feats, power feats, and card feats
each equal to your tier minus 1. For example, if you are
in Tier 3, gain 2 skill feats, 2 power feats, and 2 card
feats. Until you have chosen all of the feats that your
character took before, you may choose only feats that
your character took before. The first two power feats
must be chosen from your character card; additional
feats may be chosen from your role.
• If you completed more than 3 scenarios in any adventures,
get a hero point for each one beyond the third.
• If your character’s deck includes any cards of a level
higher than your tier, replace each with a card of the
same type that has a level equal to or less than your
current tier.

Notated the skill and power feat.
Determined my tier. Since this character has only completed scenarios in Adventure 1 , this character is tier 1.
Determine my xp: Since my character completed 5 adventures, it has 5xp. I can choose to advance to tier two if I wish.
Gain skill/power/card feats: Tarlin is tier 1. 1 minus 1 is zero. Therefore no skill, power, or card feats are gained.
Hero points: My character completed five scenarios so has two hero points.

So if Tarlin stays at tier 1 the character goes from 2 feats to 0 but ends up with 2 hero points (which presumably cannot be spent on feats) and 5 xp. This means I would need to complete 1 more scenario at tier 1 and five scenarios at tier 2 before advancing to tier 3 in order to catch up with my feats. This seems contrary to the example given if you have only completed 1 scenario.

Spoiler:
If you completed only one scenario, conversion is easy:
Your character is in Tier 1. If you have not already gained a
feat, you get a hero point, and you may immediately spend
it to gain a feat. You also get 1 experience point (XP). No
further changes are needed.

I think the intent here would be for Tarlin to have 1 skill, power, and card feat as well as 2 hero points at the end of conversion. Especially as if I choose to advance Tarlin to tier 2 by spending his xp he would indeed have all 3 feats and 2 hero points.

Am I missing something here?

Silver Crusade 2/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

I agree you should have one of each type of feat on addition to your two hero points. I think there is a missing one in the somewhere saying "If you have complete at least 3 scenarios in your tier, choose one power feat, skill feat, and card feat. If you had one or more feats of that type before unchecking then, you must choose from those first." Or something of that nature.

1/5 *

Katlyn99 wrote:
Am I missing something here?

No, I think you have it right. The older Guides gave you the normal feats if you've previously completed 2 or 4 Scenarios at your Tier. The equivalent here should be giving you a feat for each of the first three Scenarios at your Tier.

While I do think they should look at this again, hopefully there aren't very many Season 0 characters left at this point. :)

1/5

Awesome thanks you two. I'm a bit tired from a convention last weekend and wasn't sure if I was just not reading this right hehe. Hopefully this can be fixed in the next version of the guide. :)

Lone Shark Games

Are there people still converting, or would it be safe to just nuke that whole section?

1/5

Good question. I did just convert but that was mostly due to wanting to walk through the exercise. I haven't played this character in over 4 years.... Not sure how many folks have old season 0 characters they haven't played since season 0 that are actually planning to play with those characters again.


Keith Richmond wrote:
Are there people still converting, or would it be safe to just nuke that whole section?

I think you could nuke the whole section

If a person really wanted to, they could use the guide 5 rules to convert from 0 to tier, and then guide 6 to convert from tier to core

1/5 *

Keith Richmond wrote:
Are there people still converting, or would it be safe to just nuke that whole section?

I doubt there's very many. If you want to remove it from the Guide, you could move it to a FAQ on the website instead. Alternatively, fix it for this year and put a notice in the Guide and on the website that characters from Season 0 must be converted (and played at least once in that form?) by Gen Con 2020 or they are no longer legal.

Matsu Kurisu wrote:
If a person really wanted to, they could use the guide 5 rules to convert from 0 to tier, and then guide 6 to convert from tier to core

Only if they still had a copy of the Guide from Seasons 1-5. I imagine older ones aren't that hard to find, but they are removed from Paizo's website.

****

I say put it up in FAQ form, maybe throw in a link in the guide. I haven't come across anyone in this situation personally and I don't think it's needed by the vast majority, but a FAQ link would still make it accessible for the few that need it.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think the solution is that this paragraph needs the bolded bit added:

Gain a number of skill feats, power feats, and card feats each equal to your tier minus 1. For example, if you are in Tier 3, gain 2 skill feats, 2 power feats, and 2 card feats. Then, if you have 1 XP, gain a feat of any type; if you have 2 XP, gain 2 feats of different types; and if you have 3 or more XP, gain a feat of each type. Until you have chosen all of the feats that your character took before, you may choose only feats that your character took before. The first two power feats must be chosen from your character card; additional feats may be chosen from your role.

1/5

Yep I think that would indeed fix it.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Converting a Season 0 character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society