| Flames of Chaos |
I'm building an Oracle for a module as a backup character, and I am a little confused about something I found on Archive of Nethys:
Lich (Horror Realms pg. 14): Every living spellcaster hides a secret in their flesh—a unique, personalized set of conditions that, when all are fulfilled in the correct order, can trigger the transformation into a lich. Normally, one must expend years and tens of thousands of gold pieces to research this deeply personalized method of attaining immortality. Yet, in a rare few cases, chance and ill fortune can conspire against an unsuspecting spellcaster. You have unknowingly) fulfilled most (but not all) of the ritualistic components to achieve lichdom. You have yet to turn into an undead creature, but you are close. You take damage from positive energy and heal from negative energy as if you were undead. At 5th level, add control undead to your list of 2nd-level oracle spells known. At 10th level, add undead anatomy IUM to your list of 3rd-level oracle spells known and undead anatomy IIUM to your list of 5th-level oracle spells known. At 15th level, you are immune to death effects.
---
First off, is this really legal to take? I thought the Additional Resources had banned this curse?
Secondly, how does this curse's base effect interact with the Resist Life Revellation from the Bones Mystery?
Resist Life (Su): You are treated as an undead creature when you are targeted by positive or negative energy. You are not subject to Turn Undead or Command Undead (or any other effect that specifically targets undead), unless you are actually an undead creature. At 7th level, you receive channel resistance +2. This bonus increases by +2 at 11th and 15th level.
---
Thanks for any assistance you can give!
|
The oracle curses in this book are legal for play except ghoul, plagued, and promethean.
Looks like it's allowed.
Seems rather redundant to take that revelation if you have that curse.
| Flames of Chaos |
Additional Resources wrote:The oracle curses in this book are legal for play except ghoul, plagued, and promethean.Looks like it's allowed.
Seems rather redundant to take that revelation if you have that curse.
Yeah - that's why I was pondering this interaction; I honestly thought one overrode the other...?
Oh, and thanks for the help with the Additional Resources; I had apparently mis-remembered the entry you quoted as I recalled Ghoul being off the table. :D
|
|
Additional Resources wrote:The oracle curses in this book are legal for play except ghoul, plagued, and promethean.Looks like it's allowed.
Seems rather redundant to take that revelation if you have that curse.
Its legal but errata'd slightly.